We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forewarned is Forearmed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3209 West Wells Street, Milwaukee, WI 53208   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Milwaukee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Forewarned is Forearmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First let me say much of what happened is my own fault for not researching the place & reading what others had to say. As we were traveling to the B&B we noticed the neighborhood seemed quite run down. As we turned onto the street which the B&B is on there were several houses w/boarded up windows. Across the street from the B&B are apartments which appear to be low income housing. We passed many police cars on the way to the B&B, all of this made us question the safety of the neighborhood. I made the big mistake of asking Laura if it was safe. She did become defensive & told me it was the city & there should be police everywhere....anyway we got off on the wrong foot to say the least.
She then proceeded to explain the tier system that they charge people. I am sorry but it felt like bait & switch. I understand paying more for a better room, but paying more so she'll recommend a restaurant rather than just give a free book about Milwaukee to you? This isn't our first stay at a B&B but it is the first time to encounter this type of treatment.
It would be to the B&B's advantage to stop this tier business & just charge everyone more up front rather than nickel & diming them. You really are treated differently if you go w/the basic Groupon which we had received as a gift.
Another problem was we shared a bathroom w/another room up there. We didn't know or ask ahead of time if our room would have it's own bathroom(my fault again). The doors all creaked & my husband & I felt we were waking everyone up by going to the bathroom in the middle of the night.
It wasn't what we expected & therein lies the problems.
OK, now the good ....the decorating is lovely, they have done much work to restore it to it's original glory & it shows. Our bed was comfy (Lone Star), and nicely decorated. Breakfast was very good with multiple choices & we did have a bottle of wine during our stay which was included.
However when we returned back to the mansion after a day of sightseeing, the thought of staying another night, sharing the bathroom(unfortunately my husband & I get up during the night), was so undesirable we left early & ended our stay at the B&B.
I can not recommend this place b/c of the tier system & treating people differently based on the price they pay. Again, I understand paying more for a tour of the mansion, but you can't recommend a restaurant?? Makes no sense, they need to change their policy & just charge more.

Room Tip: Request rooms w/private bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schusterbnb, Owner at Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your opinion. You seem to express that you did not like the levels of service that we offer, our other guests just love this option. Since everyone has their reasons from staying. I believe that you had a Groupon, the levels of service was explained on the Groupon offer, so this should not have been a surprise when you booked or when you arrived. We offered the discounted program, discounted service. Yes, from there you can pick to have a true B&B experience, since you were already given big saving on your Groupon (more than 1/2 price for the price of your room.) I do believe that when one does not inform oneself before going some where, you truly do yourself a disservice to where you are going. Milwaukee, like any other big city is dealing with the economy and is working to rise above it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    14
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
11
80
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berwyn, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife found a groopon for this B&B and we went there this last weekend. A beautiful old mansion well maintained by people who love it and show their guests a wonderful time. The rooms are full of late 1800's and early 1900's nick nacks and furniture. If you want there is a tour of the mansion, they have a high tea. The breakfasts are very good individual meals not a buffet. For some one who wants to get away for a relaxing few dys try this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

When my daughter-in-law and I enter the mansion, it was like we were back in the days
when the house was built. You could not hear any sounds from outside, the house was
made so well. The Owner Hosts Laura Sue and Rick were so great and very friendly and helpful.
.
The mansion is so clean and well decorated with period pieces. It is a beautiful place.

You get 4 choices to pick for breakfast, and all are outstanding. Laura Sue even wore a serving outfit that she had sewed. There was more than enough food and was
so good.
They host a High Tea that is 2 hours long about 4 afternoons a week. She wears period dresses that she mades for it. We did not go to the High Tea, but might in the
future.
We would go back and stay there again. We felt very cared for.
Thanks Laura Sue and Rick.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. The ones on the third floor share a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Recently spent two days at this beautiful B & B! The moment we walked into this vintage mansion, we felt relaxed...from the beautiful antique furnishings and comfortable suite to the delicious breakfast, we could not have asked for a better weekend. Left there fully relaxed and recharged.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscobel, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

My wife and I just spent two nights at this wonderful B&B. We liked it because Laura Sue and Rick are saving a beautiful building in addition to being great hosts.

The location is ideal if you have a meeting down town Milwaukee. We arrived before check in time, left our suitcases with Laura Sue and our car in their parking lot. We then walked a block to Wisconsin Avenue and took the MCTA bus to the Milwaukee Center. No hassles no parking problems. After the meeting we walked a couple of blocks to an Irish pub for a brew and dinner.

The next morning, we had a delightful breakfast in the mansion's sun room. Laura Sue talked about the progress she has made since they purchased the mansion.

That evening we sat in our suite and read books. If I wanted, I could have gone downstairs to the Men's Lounge to read my book.

The place is comfortable and wonderful. It is like visiting old friends in their home.

Room Tip: If you want the lowest price, you can stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Took my three daughters to the Schuster Mansion for a getaway weekend. Girls loved the fancy breakfast and decor. Great getaway and great company! Felt like being at Grandma and Grandpa's house with plenty of cookie and candy jars. Love it!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. The room was very clean and nicely appointed, each one that I saw had a theme and all were like staying in a little museum. We were in the Lone Star room, cowboy motif, my husband was in heaven! The rest of the house has been lovingly restored with many vintage pieces and lots of attention to detail so one could spend a good portion of the stay just looking around the place. Hosts were very friendly and the food was wonderful. We went while the holiday decorations were still up and it was quite festive. It is easy to get to many of the attractions in the city and priced right. Clotted cream and pumpkin bread were a special treat as were the home baked cookies in the butlers pantry.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are small but quiet and secluded, lots of stair climbing though so keep tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3209 West Wells Street, Milwaukee, WI 53208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Schuster Mansion is the newest B&B in Milwaukee's Historic Concordia Neighborhood. Converted to luxury apartments in the 20s, owners/innkeepers Rick & Laura Sue take great pride in returning this architectural gem to its original splendor. Situated just 5 minutes from downtown, it's the perfect destination for your private weekend getaway. Our spacious Victorian suites will surround you in luxury and our wonderful homemade breakfasts can be enjoyed at your private in-suite breakfast table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuster Mansion Hotel Milwaukee
Schuster Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.