We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds & Stunning at the Holidays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Point Lighthouse

North Point Lighthouse
2650 N. Wahl Avenue, P.O. Box 930, Milwaukee, WI 53201-0930
414-332-6754
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #28 of 86 attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Lighthouses
Attraction Details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds & Stunning at the Holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We happen to choose the busiest day of the year to visit the lighthouse (150th Anniversary Celebration - early Dec.). It cost $5.00 per person but they also had Santa, Mrs. Claus, singers, arts and crafts as well as a cake, snacks and cider available. The lighthouse itself was fun walking up (even for me, who is afraid of heights) - spiraling to the top level where you then need to climb a ladder to get to the top. My youngest and I didn't brave that part but my husband, daughter and friend did. They said (and from my photos, I could see too), that it was great with the exception of the windows being fogged up. You can see the city and the lake and on a very clear day, it is even said that you can see Michigan. The grounds surrounding the lighthouse are beautiful and a nice place for a good walk as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
458 reviews 458 reviews
278 attraction reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
416 helpful votes 416 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop Even When It's Not Open”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were in Milwaukee on two weekdays and did not get to take the tour of North Point Lighthouse which is only available on the weekends, but it was very worthwhile to make the effort to drive to the lighthouse and enjoy the structure's exterior beauty as well as the beautiful Lake Park. A loving restoration is evident in the great condition of the building's exterior. We also enjoyed a short walk in Lake Park -- a lovely, safe-feeling area with walkers from the community.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great place to go for a walk or a run. Sometimes I take my kids there. Other times I go for a Run. Milwaukee county parks system is the best in the world

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Milwaukee Landmark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I went to school at t. Mary's Hospital in the 50s. Looking at the lighthouse makes me things of good and bad days at school and the friends I made.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Simeon, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice tour, great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very pretty lighthouse, short tour takes you to the top of tower with great views of the lake. Interesting artifacts in the museum. Plan to spend about half an hour. It's in a beautiful neighborhood with gorgeous homes if you want to walk around.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Point Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to North Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Point Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.