We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good local restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta's Italian Restaurant

Tenuta's Italian Restaurant
2995 S Clement Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53207-2469 (Bay View)
414-431-1014
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 1,409 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Bay View
Sussex, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a very charming place. We had a nice table in the back for two. The place was very crowded and the service was good. The food was good. Both our entrees were good, not great. I would recommend this restaurant for a place to have a nice meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice all around dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited Tenuta's on her arrival to Milwaukee (it's very easy to get there from the nearby airport) and loved it. We loved the quaint neighborhood,
local vibes, and the excellent service - it seemed our waitress and servers were truly excited to share their cuisine and proud of what they deliver. The dishes were consistently good and given the pricing, a high value. Definitely one of Milwaukee's best all around dining experiences.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meets or beats Chicago's best at 1/2 the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

They really care! 2nd or 3rd generation family run restaurant in residential neighborhood with outstanding food and service. Ravioli di funghi (mushrooms, spinach, etc). in excellent sauce and veal parmagiana were excellent. Large portions of food and generous drinks. Waitress knowledgeable and attentive. Casual, comfortable atmosphere. If you are visiting Milwaukee, have dinner here one night and Coquette's the second night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for solo diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I travel for work and always search out a non chain restaurant that represents the town. Tenuta's falls into this sweet spot. It's set in a charming neighborhood and was filled with gracious and friendly locals. The bar tender was extremely knowledgeable about the wine list and didn't hesitate to offer tastes. The menu was a twist on the standard Italian fare-thank goodness. The ravioli fungi and tiramisu did not dissapoint!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Tucked away in a south Milwaukee neighborhood is Tenuta's, a quaint, fabulous Italian restaurant. Upon entering one is reminded of something out of the "Godfather" as you are greeted by a large bar with a room attached that contains several, inviting tables. Our server impressed us all evening with her timely visits to our table and her knowledge of each menu item and how they were prepared.

We started with a roasted cauliflower soup. A wonderful puree with a subtle taste of the vegetable.

Tenuta's has a full-service bar with a very nice selection of wines by-the-glass.

We ordered the Veal Scallopini and Chicken Piccata. Both dishes were served with sauteed spinach, oven roasted potatoes, and plenty of garlic. The Piccata was finished wonderfully with a lemon wine sauce with capers and the Scallopini with white wine sauce. Both the veal and chicken were fork tender and perfectly prepared. Portions were just right.

This is a place that when you look around you notice that everybody is very happy to be there. We also noticed an announcement on the wall that Tenuta's was voted by the readers of Milwaukee Magazine to have the best pizza in town. Many of the diners were eating that pizza served on large used, tomato cans.

Our server recommended the Tiramisu for desert, best we ever tasted.

One suggestion, make reservations. After 6:00 PM this place is full. Dinner for two with two glasses of wine, one desert and two coffees was under $70. A real bargain for the quality of the food, wine and service.

We can't wait to visit Milwaukee and Tenuta's again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenuta's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tenuta's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.