We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite theater EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Theater

Oriental Theater
2230 N. Farwell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Lower East Side)
(312) 977-1700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 92 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My favorite theater EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 NEW

Even if you do not come here to see one of the interesting independent movies offered, come to check out the building. It is beautiful, ornate, fascinating, and I wish it's walls could talk.

The Saturday organ mini concert should not be missed, and the popcorn is real movie popcorn that you just cannot find much anymore.

I LOVE this theater and try to get her a couple times a month. Its too bad they divided up the theater into sub theaters, but I suspect that was necessary to stay in business. The middle theater is not to be missed, so much eye candy.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    28
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Historical Theatre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I went her for the Great Gatsby premiere dressed in period attire and had a great time. Perfect setting for any retro film. After the film we went to Victor's disco where party kept on rolling!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Classic! Everyone needs to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I have been going to the Oriental for over 40 years. I love the old classic styling. The popcorn is Freshly made. You can even buy alcoholic beverages to take into the theather.
Attend during the Milwaukee Film Festival for a double bonus.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Stopped in here for a movie and was blown away with how beautifully the theater has been kept up. The screen and seats have clearly been updated, but not in a way that compromises the character of the setting. They have a good selection of new movies. Definitely worth stopping by to take a look.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The epicenter of everything awesome about Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

I never get tired of seeing the beauty that is the interior of this historic theater. The fact that they did an amazing job of adding two smaller theaters under the balcony while preserving the grandeur of the main theater is a credit to the owners. There is nothing better than sitting in the main theater waiting for the 7 pm show on a Friday or Saturday, eating popcorn, and hearing the Kimball Theater Organ played live.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Theater also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.