We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Theater!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Theater

Oriental Theater
2230 N. Farwell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Lower East Side)
(312) 977-1700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 89 attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Theater!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place, no matter how many times I go, always takes my breath away! It has been restored but still has its quirky and unique charm. Plus, any theater you can go to and grab a Spotted Cow is awesome in my opinion!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    27
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sturgeon Bay
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Beautifully Restored Movie Theatre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I always try to catch a great independent flick at the Oriental when we are in Milwaukee. You feel like you are walking back in time once you step through the doors. It's a true gem!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Have to see a movie here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The history is amazing, look it up. You have to see a movie in the main theatre here. The other two theatres are not as impressive as the main one. Take everyone, it is such a cool and historic place in our city. So glad it has survived this long.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A classic theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Oriental still runs the Rocky Horror Picture Show on weekends. The Milwaukee Film Festival has movies in this theater, and independent and smaller run films find their way to the Oriental.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We really enjoyed seeing the art work in the lobby and upstairs. It was different and very interesting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Theater also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oriental Theater to your Saves list