We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but diverse Museum” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Haggerty Museum of Art

Haggerty Museum of Art
13th and Clybourn Sts., Milwaukee, WI
414-288-1669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 76 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Cahokia, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quaint but diverse Museum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Lovely venue strolling from free parking on the Marquette campus ( blink and you miss Lot J) Fall foliage and crisp air set calming tone for museum. Mulitple floored museum but sparse on the art and admittedly I came in with my art cynical self so it was more a mocking of the modern art. Everyone can find something they like and some pieces to laugh at. Still don't understand the mountain of tape strips and some of the other pieces I have done better when I spilled paint but to each his own. Went with mother who like me tends to appreciate the classics and mock the less traditional art. We had a great time laughing at pieces, even had the guards(college workstudy students) fighting a laugh so we had fun and that is all that matters. Good starter museum for younger kids as they have some activities for youngsters and since small can get a taste of art without feeling like they are being drug through a nightmare. Since admission is free and parking is free - lot j check one of the many campus maps available for exact directions.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
438 reviews 438 reviews
280 attraction reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Good but very small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I love that this museum is free, and the quality of the artwork it shows is very nice. The only thing is that it doesn't have very much, so you can do it in about 10 minutes. In order to make the visit worthwhile, take a stroll across the campus and see the Joan of Arc chapel too. If you love art, you will love it too. Parking is actually much better than it used to be. There are meters on the street behind the museum and if you look at their website, they tell you where you can park for free.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great little museum but lack of parking makes it difficult to visit here. They also don't seem to advertise special exhibits to the general public.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“4.5 for quality, 2 for quantity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The collection on display is outstanding. As the previous reviewer said, "it's small but packs a punch."

My problem is that it's too small. I cannot possibly give the Haggerty 5/5 after seeing the truly outstanding collections at other universities like Case Western and University of Buffalo.

The Haggerty is definitely worth a visit, but don't plan on spending more than an hour there.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
225 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
473 helpful votes 473 helpful votes
“A Pint-sized Museum With Some Old Master Punch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

This very small art museum on the campus of Marquette University has some fine Old Master paintings.I especially enjoyed their works by;Ridolfo Ghirlandaio,Giampietrino,Gilles Mostaert,Juan Correa de Vivar,and Francesco Trevisiani.I also saw a fine Impressionistic work,"La Machine de Marly" by Gustave Caillebotte.Personal favorites were;Gillis Mostaert's"Christ's Entry Into Jerusalem",Francesco Trevisiani's"Saint Peter in Penitence",Gustave Caillebotte's"La Machine de Marly",and Salvador Dali's"Madonna at Port Llugat".Because this museum is quite small,I suggest that you call the Haggerty Art Museum to make sure their permanent collection is on display.Recently,I saw a fine display of silkscreen works by Roy Lichtenstein as well as some fine Chicano Contemporary Art(Marco Raya's"Cataclismo")on temporary display.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haggerty Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Haggerty Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haggerty Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.