We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for a comedy show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pabst Theater

Pabst Theater
144 E. Wells St., Milwaukee, WI 53208 (Downtown)
414-286-3663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 88 attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great venue for a comedy show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We saw comedian Kathleen Madigan at the pabst theater on a Friday night. The theater is beautiful with ornate decor. We sat one the main floor and the view was excellent. We were off to the side at the end of a row, but the view was very good. There were 3 levels of seating. The next level seemed to have a good view as well. There was a nose bleed section that was steep but I can't speak to the view. I would definitely recommend the main floor the the price. Great place to see a show.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    35
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Grand Matriarch of Milwaukee entertainment reigns supreme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Joseph Pabst got it right, from the very beginning. With its ornate chandelier, carved and gilded woodwork, and rococo red velvet interior, you KNOW you're in a concert hall when you sit down!
A long (and still occasional) home to the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, this venue now features prominent local and national musical acts, as well as plays, comedy, and children's programs.

You know you're in Milwaukee the moment your ticket is taken, as you face TWO bar stations adjacent to the hall's entrance doors. $3 PBR tall-boys are the order of the day (other, more erudite libation is also available). I saw Americana/jazz guitarist Willy Porter with his big band, The Blamethrowers last Friday, and the show was packed with an enthusiastic crowd of fans who seemed to know the words to every song. The sound was impeccable in this wonderful acoustic space. Aside from a brief beer-induced brawl in the front seats early into the set, the show flowed smoothly through to two encores.

Parking in the adjacent hotel was only $8.00, and a clean getaway was had. Why would anyone feel the need to get juiced and jacked in Chicago, when such an easy time can be had just across the Wisconsin border?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This theater is has an intimate setting with great atmosphere. It's a perfect date night especially when you combine it with a night's stay at the Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel and dinner at Kil@watt...they're all in the same building! I highly recommend this theater for a spontaneous night out on the town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you want a small venue, where you're "up close and personal" with the entertainment, this is the place to be. The acoustics are wonderful and the lighting varies dependant upon the act. I would pick this venue over any other center or stadium to see an act. It's the way it used to be!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Have seen shows 20+ times here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The theatre is a beautiful restored survivor and the gilded wood work is fantastic. We have seen many concerts here and the sound has always been okay. The seats are getting a bit long in the tooth and could use some new padding. They are also nicely designed for an 1900 sized person - when men were men and stood 5 foot 6 inches on average and weighed 140 pounds. Not so cool anymore. The bathroom situation remains dismal - they just plain don't have enough. Still I keep going back - they have great shows. Nice balcony views!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pabst Theater also viewed

 

Been to Pabst Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pabst Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pabst Theater to your Saves list