We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for a comedy show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pabst Theater

Pabst Theater
144 E. Wells St., Milwaukee, WI 53208 (Downtown)
414-286-3663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 90 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great venue for a comedy show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We saw comedian Kathleen Madigan at the pabst theater on a Friday night. The theater is beautiful with ornate decor. We sat one the main floor and the view was excellent. We were off to the side at the end of a row, but the view was very good. There were 3 levels of seating. The next level seemed to have a good view as well. There was a nose bleed section that was steep but I can't speak to the view. I would definitely recommend the main floor the the price. Great place to see a show.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    37
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, IL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Grand Matriarch of Milwaukee entertainment reigns supreme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Joseph Pabst got it right, from the very beginning. With its ornate chandelier, carved and gilded woodwork, and rococo red velvet interior, you KNOW you're in a concert hall when you sit down!
A long (and still occasional) home to the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, this venue now features prominent local and national musical acts, as well as plays, comedy, and children's programs.

You know you're in Milwaukee the moment your ticket is taken, as you face TWO bar stations adjacent to the hall's entrance doors. $3 PBR tall-boys are the order of the day (other, more erudite libation is also available). I saw Americana/jazz guitarist Willy Porter with his big band, The Blamethrowers last Friday, and the show was packed with an enthusiastic crowd of fans who seemed to know the words to every song. The sound was impeccable in this wonderful acoustic space. Aside from a brief beer-induced brawl in the front seats early into the set, the show flowed smoothly through to two encores.

Parking in the adjacent hotel was only $8.00, and a clean getaway was had. Why would anyone feel the need to get juiced and jacked in Chicago, when such an easy time can be had just across the Wisconsin border?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This theater is has an intimate setting with great atmosphere. It's a perfect date night especially when you combine it with a night's stay at the Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel and dinner at Kil@watt...they're all in the same building! I highly recommend this theater for a spontaneous night out on the town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you want a small venue, where you're "up close and personal" with the entertainment, this is the place to be. The acoustics are wonderful and the lighting varies dependant upon the act. I would pick this venue over any other center or stadium to see an act. It's the way it used to be!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Have seen shows 20+ times here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The theatre is a beautiful restored survivor and the gilded wood work is fantastic. We have seen many concerts here and the sound has always been okay. The seats are getting a bit long in the tooth and could use some new padding. They are also nicely designed for an 1900 sized person - when men were men and stood 5 foot 6 inches on average and weighed 140 pounds. Not so cool anymore. The bathroom situation remains dismal - they just plain don't have enough. Still I keep going back - they have great shows. Nice balcony views!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pabst Theater also viewed

 

Been to Pabst Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pabst Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.