We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of character, not a lot of comfort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pabst Theater

Pabst Theater
144 E. Wells St., Milwaukee, WI 53208 (Downtown)
414-286-3663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 90 attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lots of character, not a lot of comfort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Pabst is a fun place to visit and a historic landmark in Milwaukee, which everyone should visit at least once. However, as a historic landmark, it shows its age. The seats and carpets are worn, the stairs and upper seating areas are steep and and almost inaccessible for anyone with any degree of disability or injury. If you are afraid of heights, do not get balcony tickets, since the view is almost straight down. I'm not sure how the servers manage to carry their drink trays up the stairs and back down to the seats in the dark! Last time we were there, there was one bartender at the upstairs bar and hundreds of people in line. I appreciate the beauty and history of the venue, but this is definitely not my first choice for where to see a show.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    36
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not a bad seat in the house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My son & I saw Dennis DeYoung at the Pabst. It is a small theater not a bad seat in the house & very historic. Ticket prices were very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to see concerts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have always enjoyed concerts at this theater. It is beautiful and a more intimate Theater than some.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best concert venue in Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Restored to old world grace and elegance. Sound quality is great. They've really expanded in recent years to bring in more diverse acts. We've seen everything from Ani DiFranco to Hot Tuna to Steve Earle there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's worth seeing at least one show in this theatre. Beautiful inside and out. Nothing like drinking a Pabst Tallboy.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pabst Theater also viewed

 

Been to Pabst Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pabst Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pabst Theater to your Saves list