We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of character, not a lot of comfort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pabst Theater

Pabst Theater
144 East Wells Street, Milwaukee, WI 53208 (Downtown)
414-286-3663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 239 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lots of character, not a lot of comfort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Pabst is a fun place to visit and a historic landmark in Milwaukee, which everyone should visit at least once. However, as a historic landmark, it shows its age. The seats and carpets are worn, the stairs and upper seating areas are steep and and almost inaccessible for anyone with any degree of disability or injury. If you are afraid of heights, do not get balcony tickets, since the view is almost straight down. I'm not sure how the servers manage to carry their drink trays up the stairs and back down to the seats in the dark! Last time we were there, there was one bartender at the upstairs bar and hundreds of people in line. I appreciate the beauty and history of the venue, but this is definitely not my first choice for where to see a show.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    44
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a bad seat in the house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My son & I saw Dennis DeYoung at the Pabst. It is a small theater not a bad seat in the house & very historic. Ticket prices were very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to see concerts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have always enjoyed concerts at this theater. It is beautiful and a more intimate Theater than some.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best concert venue in Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Restored to old world grace and elegance. Sound quality is great. They've really expanded in recent years to bring in more diverse acts. We've seen everything from Ani DiFranco to Hot Tuna to Steve Earle there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's worth seeing at least one show in this theatre. Beautiful inside and out. Nothing like drinking a Pabst Tallboy.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pabst Theater also viewed

 

Been to Pabst Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pabst Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.