We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like I'm in Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica of St. Josaphat

Basilica of St. Josaphat
2333 S 6th St, Milwaukee, WI 53215
+1 414-645-5623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 243 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Basilica of St. Josaphat is a ministry of the Conventual Franciscans on the South Side of Milwaukee in Historic Lincoln Village. The Basilica is a Franciscan center for prayer and spirituality, inspiration and beauty. It is home to a vibrant Roman Catholic parish and remains a testament to the faith of the Polish immigrants that created it. We invite you to join us for a visit, a tour, for worship or in prayer.
Nashotah, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Feels like I'm in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The basilica is amazing! It truly feels like you're in one of the churches in Europe.
At nite, the stained glass windows are beautiful. We go to concerts there and the
sound is great.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    56
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A nice place to spend an afternoon. The Basilica is serene, beautiful and a wonderful place for contemplation.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This spectacularly beautiful church made us feel like we were traveling in Europe again. We attended the 8:00 a.m. Mass, then stayed around talking for about 10-15 minutes. About that time the choir started practicing for the next Mass service -- and their pure voices were such a joy to listen to.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Jewel in the Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is located on a suburb Milwaukee. It has beautiful interior design! The exterior is gorgeous. A must visit place when you go to Milwaukee.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Lovely old church with unbelievable interior. Went on a Monday early afternoon and was able to walk around entire church and spend quiet moments sitting and enjoying the silence. I'm not a church attendee but this was a very spiritual experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of St. Josaphat also viewed

 

Been to Basilica of St. Josaphat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica of St. Josaphat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.