We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most excitement was getting in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Safe House

Safe House
779 North Front Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)
(414) 271-2007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 1,338 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The spy theme restaurant Time Magazine calls "irresistible and inexhaustible." "Do Before you Die" says AOL.Com "Hippest Place on the Planet" says Wired magazine. Banquets, Spycial Events, Parties, Wedding Receptions.
Madison
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Most excitement was getting in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I rated this a 3 only because other than the thrill of getting in and really cool decor and secret booths and doors. Other than that I was not too impressed, the cheese curds we had were awesome but also over priced. I probably won't go back only because once you seen it, who really cares if you see it again. The staff was good though

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    217
    82
    44
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fun for whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went this time without the kids, and still had a great time. The waitress was engaging and attentive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Great food, Great Atmosphere, Great Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I came here for a lunch meeting. I had heard of Safe House, but as someone new to Milwaukee, I had never had the pleasure of visiting. I'll not spoil the surprise for you, but it's fun getting in, the staff is seriously amazing, and the food did not disappoint.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun place to stop when in downtown Milwaukee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I hadn't been to this bar in probably 25-30 years and I was amazed at how little has changed! The exit was different and the spy phone booth was missing its old pay phone, of course. But everything else was exactly as I remembered it. I knew the password, but my boyfriend did not, so he had to dance a hula in a grass skirt and lei to gain admittance! LOL

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun to watch people enter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Safe House requires you to know the password to enter or perform some action in order to gain entrance. You never know what will be asked. Once inside you can watch others attempt to gain entrance. Lots of fun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safe House also viewed

 

Been to Safe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.