We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plaza Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1007 North Cass Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Plaza Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Overall, we had a great stay. Super clean & comfy. Would not recommend staying in a room by the stairwell though...we got a fair amount of noise from people up and down stairs & back doors opening/closing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    70
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
39
69
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I only stayed one night on business, but the room was comfortable in a quiet and very walkable, safe neighborhood. It might be a good more affordable choice for attending conferences at the larger business-oriented hotels about a 10 minute walk west. Brady St. shops and restaurants are also within walking distance, as is the beautiful Milwaukee lakefront (about a 20 minute walk). Rooms are well appointed but not completely renovated, although the kitchen in the room was new and nicely equipped. Free WiFi was fast and easy to access.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed in the two bedroom suite with another couple, which was perfect for two couples. Plenty of room with a full kitchen. The room classic and charming without being dated. Location was very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Room was comfortable, room service doesn't include cleaning the toilet, bathtub etc unless you stay 7 nights or longer.
Staff was very friendly, welcoming, and supportive. would stay again if back in MKE!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Room was very comfortable and clean. Plentiful closet space. Only negative was small bathroom with no counter space. Great location close to Lake Michigan and halfway between downtown and Brady Street. Restaurant is a bonus. Only open for brunch. Food was excellent. Room location on first floor was convenient. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you are looking for an upscale, modern hotel keep looking. But if stepping back in time a bit is your thing, by all means give this place a try. You can really feel what it must have been like to stay in a downtown hotel in1950 - very art deco. The hotel is old and lacks some of the amenities of the 21st century (like elevators and air conditioning), but the rooms and public spaces are well maintained, neat and very clean. While our room had obviously been updated, it had not been "remodeled" (except for the kitchen area, which was very current).

The other thing I need to mention is how friendly and helpful every person on the staff we encounter was! It was really refreshing to deal with people who genuinely care.

We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I guess when Cecelia at the front desk handed us our room key (literally a key) we knew this was a different kind of hotel. It is old school all the way and that's pretty cool. We had a corner suite which was huge, bright and clean. The rooms have been redone but still have that old world charm. There was a separate bedroom with an en-suite and then a large sitting area with a pull-out and another queen bed, another 3 piece bath and a fully stocked and equipped modern kitchen. It was home away from home. The service was impeccable, the location was super - just a few minutes away from the lake and our room was fantastic. It far exceeded our expectation.

There isn't a complimentary breakfast but you do receive a discount at the Plaza Cafe. This place is incredible. We sat at the counter and it was like we went back to 1940. Breakfast was great and the coffee --- superb! Our server Hayley could not have provided better service - she was awesome! A really fun and delicious experience.

I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here on our next trip to Milwaukee. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want to take advantage of the kitchen, there is a grocery store just behind the hotel. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda R, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Plaza! We pride ourselves in offering excellent service, and I am so glad that you recognized that. I am also glad that you enjoyed your experience in The Cafe. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you soon!

Best,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: 1007 North Cass Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza has been a fixture on Milwaukee's eastside since the roaring 1920's. This art deco gem has been thoughtfully renovated to restore many of the stunning original architectural details while providing for the modern amenities & the latest technology today's traveler demands. Nestled in a residential nook of the Yankee Hill neighborhood, the Plaza is just 4 blocks from Lake Michigan and the city's lakefront attractions. Within walking distance to some of the city's best restaurants, nightlife, arts, sports, etc. Grocery store, churches, art galleries & shopping are all nearby. On-site parking for a minimal fee, kitchenettes & laundry room. Cafe at the Plaza, open 7am-2pm. Known for it's great breakfasts! Sitting on the edge of downtown, you will find the Plaza to be a relaxing urban retreat.Property has air conditioning in the summer months. AC unit installed based on weather conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.