We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plaza Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1007 North Cass Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Plaza Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 days at the Plaza during the April Artwalk weekend. It was a wonderful experience. The Plaza feels like a charming European hotel. Our room was beautifully revovated, extremely neat and clean, and the bed was very cushy. It even had a kitchen, which came in very handy. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Be sure to eat at least one breakfast in the Plaza Cafe - it is amazing! In addition to the hotel guests, there was always a large group of locals there every day to enjoy the fabulous omelets. One morning I tried the oatmeal raisin pancakes with vanilla creme - delicious! For the price, I think the Plaza is probably the best deal in Milwaukee. It is well located within walking distance to the lakefront, downtown, the Art Museum, and we even walked to the Historic Third Ward in about 20 minutes - which is a very pleasant walk if the weather is cooperating. Despite being so close to downtown, the neighborhood is residential, quiet, and feels very safe. Highly recommended, would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There are really nice 2 bedroom units with kitchens on the second floor, but you have to be willing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    61
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
34
63
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband & I and another couple stayed at The Plaza Hotel for our winter pub crawl. We arrived early before check in time and were able to get right into our room. We got the 2 bedroom suite, with 2 bathrooms and a kitchen. It was recently remodeled since the hotel was built in 1927 and our room was excellent! Very clean and spacious for 2 couples, the kitchen was very useful and the bedding was pristine! Two plasma tvs and free wifi. The hotel also has a small cafe diner and while the food is a little on the pricey side, it was excellent and plentiful. This hotel has it all, location, price, the cafe and a very helpful staff. We are already planning next years tour. I would also recommend the Lakefront Brewery Tour, The Romain Coin, The Nomad and The Hi Hat for the burgers!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Plaza hotel is unique, w/ the top two stories being apartments, and the bottom two being a hotel. The first room we went into was very outdated, right near the back entrance, and our deadbolt did not work. It was kind of a creepy room w/ yellow walls, and not much to it. So we called the front desk and the girl working was very nice and moved us to a MUCH nicer room which we ended up truly enjoying. The only problem with it was that we could not monitor the heating/cooling. Besides that the TV was nice, the kitchenette was nice, and we were able to keep our dog there for 50 bucks for the whole weekend. It's located in a great spot right near a HUGE park (Veterans Park) near Lake Michigan....and not a far walk from bars, etc on Water Street. Also close is the Lakefront Brewery Tour.....which was a mile walk from the hotel and an excellent time. The cafe in the hotel is awesome, great food, old school cafe style, and great service. We ate there both days w/ our $2.50 per person coupons each day. Overall the stay was great, but be careful of which room you are given at first.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This past summer, my family and I took a short trip to Milwaukee from Chicago for a family birthday party. At the last minute we decided it would be fun to spend the night in the great city. My husband never being there and my boys only being 2 we figured it would be fun to stay. Our reservation was made for us at the recomendation of our family. When we arrived at the hotel we were greated by a wonderful women with a warm smile, who handed us actual keys to our room. No swip card here. I was shocked. Upon entering our room our boys were delighted to see 2 tall, very soft, very comfortable beds. The room was very neat and had the most amazing charm. I felt like I could have been in Paris! The next morning we ate a delicious breakfast at the cafe inside the hotel. The staff was very friendly and responsive to our needs. I can't thank our family enough for the reservation and would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I definitely recommend The Plaza on Cass Street in Milwaukee. It has a quaint retro feel with modern amenities and affordable prices. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The location is walking distance to many Milwaukee destinations and was in a safe and quiet neighborhood. My husband and I would definitely return to The Plaza!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

As a single female traveler, I am particularly attentive to places I stay where I feel safe and the Plaza is definitely a safe place. It's within walking distance of important downtown locations, breakfast at the Cafe was DELICIOUS (and locally sourced!), the staff is friendly and attentive, my room was clean and neat, and the kitchenette was perfect for what I needed on my 3-day stay. I highly recommend the Plaza and will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: There is a door to the kitchen (kitchenette) that you can close at night so you don't have to li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doonbeg, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I spend 4 very enjoyable nights in the Plaza. The location is perfect as it is only a 10 min walk to the lake shore or downtown. My room was spotless with a very comfortable bed, great sized closet, flat screen tv, kitchenette (the fridge was so handy for keeping drinks cool) and easy to use shower. Breakfast was wonderful in the Cafe at the Plaza and the outdoor private terrace seating was a real treat on a fine sunny morning. The staff were most obliging and welcoming. I would recommend this hotel for convenience and value for money while visiting Milwaukee.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: 1007 North Cass Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza has been a fixture on Milwaukee's eastside since the roaring 1920's. This art deco gem has been thoughtfully renovated to restore many of the stunning original architectural details while providing for the modern amenities & the latest technology today's traveler demands. Nestled in a residential nook of the Yankee Hill neighborhood, the Plaza is just 4 blocks from Lake Michigan and the city's lakefront attractions. Within walking distance to some of the city's best restaurants, nightlife, arts, sports, etc. Grocery store, churches, art galleries & shopping are all nearby. On-site parking for a minimal fee, kitchenettes & laundry room. Cafe at the Plaza, open 7am-2pm. Known for it's great breakfasts! Sitting on the edge of downtown, you will find the Plaza to be a relaxing urban retreat.Property has air conditioning in the summer months. AC unit installed based on weather conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.