We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Grill

Jackson Grill
3736 W Mitchell St, Milwaukee, WI 53215-1730
414-384-7384
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,409 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Okeechobee, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“3rd time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We visited Jackson Grill for the third time and for our 3rd anniversary. Food is still great. Pork chop was just over cooked but still good. Steak was perfect and the garlic mashed potatoes were great. Great staff and very friendly owner. Go there. Now it's off to Leons for dessert.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terre-de-Haut, Guadeloupe
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
“JACK UP FOR A GREAT MEAL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Restaurants often grow stale, like a favorite song, when you repeat the experience over and over again. Jackson Grill has continued to tantalize & shine for years on end. This urban supper club, located in an obscure & unique residential-industrial neighborhood, welcomes you with Wisconsin warmth,resonating comraderie, as the bar is filled by happy,welcoming folks. The steaks, grilled to perfection, & the ribs, extending over your plate, are the best! Prices are reasonable for wonderful dining served with love.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great, except.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I will echo all of the other great reviews, atmosphere, service, wonderful bartenders, warm and gracious host Janice. Here is the single flaw: they have 3 seatings, 5, 630, 800. We had a 630 reservation, arrived early to enjoy sitting at the bar. We weren't seated until 6:50, which was fine with us, we were in no hurry whatsoever, and Janice had checked in with us, letting us know the table wasn't turning promptly.
However, as soon as we were seated, our waitress Heidi made it clear we were being seated late, and there was another seating at 8 pm. She then rushed us in placing our orders, choosing wine,whisking plates away. It threatened to overshadow the wonderful experience. Late in the meal, we mentioned feeling rushed to Janice, who then seemed to take over our table, relaxing the pace, providing an after dinner drink. Thanks Janice!
I would hope that the wait staff can find a way to balance turning tables in a timely fashion, with providing a more relaxed dining experience. I will be back, and will make a point to book the latest seating, to avoid a repeat of this experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We love to find places like this with excellent service and food! From the moment we walked in, the place felt comfortable and welcoming. Bartender was professional but casual and made us feel like we were in her home. Unusual appetizers like crispy pig ears and duck fat fries. Both outstanding! Our steaks were fantastic, cooked perfectly and full of flavor. Our server was attentive and friendly and actually said HE enjoyed serving US! The owner, Jimmy, came out of the kitchen to chat with each table, which is a personal touch you don't see much anymore. We will definitely go back. Wonderful evening! Best to make a reservation...as word gets out, this great place is quickly becoming one of our city's not-so-hidden gems!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My new favorite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The atmosphere here is the first thing that impressed me. I so loved it that I was willing to come back even if the food was only kind of good, which it was not. It was great. The homemade salad dressings, the wonderful soup, and of course the steaks. Not to mention the very professional bartenders. My perfect night out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jackson Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.