We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Grill

Jackson Grill
3736 W Mitchell St, Milwaukee, WI 53215-1730
414-384-7384
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #9 of 1,383 restaurants in Milwaukee
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Okeechobee, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“3rd time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We visited Jackson Grill for the third time and for our 3rd anniversary. Food is still great. Pork chop was just over cooked but still good. Steak was perfect and the garlic mashed potatoes were great. Great staff and very friendly owner. Go there. Now it's off to Leons for dessert.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    33
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terre-de-Haut, Guadeloupe
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
“JACK UP FOR A GREAT MEAL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Restaurants often grow stale, like a favorite song, when you repeat the experience over and over again. Jackson Grill has continued to tantalize & shine for years on end. This urban supper club, located in an obscure & unique residential-industrial neighborhood, welcomes you with Wisconsin warmth,resonating comraderie, as the bar is filled by happy,welcoming folks. The steaks, grilled to perfection, & the ribs, extending over your plate, are the best! Prices are reasonable for wonderful dining served with love.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, except.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I will echo all of the other great reviews, atmosphere, service, wonderful bartenders, warm and gracious host Janice. Here is the single flaw: they have 3 seatings, 5, 630, 800. We had a 630 reservation, arrived early to enjoy sitting at the bar. We weren't seated until 6:50, which was fine with us, we were in no hurry whatsoever, and Janice had checked in with us, letting us know the table wasn't turning promptly.
However, as soon as we were seated, our waitress Heidi made it clear we were being seated late, and there was another seating at 8 pm. She then rushed us in placing our orders, choosing wine,whisking plates away. It threatened to overshadow the wonderful experience. Late in the meal, we mentioned feeling rushed to Janice, who then seemed to take over our table, relaxing the pace, providing an after dinner drink. Thanks Janice!
I would hope that the wait staff can find a way to balance turning tables in a timely fashion, with providing a more relaxed dining experience. I will be back, and will make a point to book the latest seating, to avoid a repeat of this experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best steakhouses in America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I would not change a thing.

Fantastic steaks and fun genuine atmosphere.

I took business guests here and they wanted to return every night for a week!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We love to find places like this with excellent service and food! From the moment we walked in, the place felt comfortable and welcoming. Bartender was professional but casual and made us feel like we were in her home. Unusual appetizers like crispy pig ears and duck fat fries. Both outstanding! Our steaks were fantastic, cooked perfectly and full of flavor. Our server was attentive and friendly and actually said HE enjoyed serving US! The owner, Jimmy, came out of the kitchen to chat with each table, which is a personal touch you don't see much anymore. We will definitely go back. Wonderful evening! Best to make a reservation...as word gets out, this great place is quickly becoming one of our city's not-so-hidden gems!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jackson Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.