We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Gourmet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pastiche Bistro & Wine Bar

Pastiche Bistro & Wine Bar
3001 South Kinnickinic Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207
(414) 482-1446
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 1,402 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Consistently Gourmet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We enjoy Pastiche a great deal. It's a cozy little restaurant and they have a wine "cellar" upstairs for tastings. Their food is country-French with a few specials to change up the menu a bit. They serve lunch (for a more casual time) and dinner (for when you want to spend a special night out).

I always leave room for dessert--chcolate ganache and the poached pear semolina cake. Though i no longer eat meat, my kids and husband enjoy the lamb and steak entrees. There is always a good choice of fish entrees, and to keep it light but tasty, i enjoy the Ratatouille with, if possilbe, their delicious paper-thin cross cut fries.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    19
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“really wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

One of the best dinners we have had in Milwaukee, which has many very good restaurants. Wonderful French onion soup and Lyonnaise salad, two fish specials (both superb), lemon tart was perfection. Excellent service. Not sure who has experienced an unfriendly hostess, but she couldn't have been nicer or more welcoming.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, WI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Six Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We scheduled our first trip to Pastiche based upon the wonderful dining review in the Milwaukee newspaper. Upon making a reservation on Wednesday, I found out that they only seat 30, so I was glad they could seat us on Saturday at 5:00 p.m. We were celebrating our anniversary with another couple, which we've done for 16 years by going to the best restaurants in SE Wisconsin. Our conclusion about Pastiche was that THIS was the best of all of those we'd tried. The meals we had were the best we've ever experienced (the Halibut with dijon caper sauce and dauphinaise potatoes was the overall favorite). The service was charmingly personal and perfect and the atmosphere was warm, cozy and intimate. It wasas if we had been transported to a small cafe in France. The deserts were as delicious as the main courses, so save room! We promised each other that we would return to Pastiche in the future to sample more of the menu and revel in the ambience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waste of money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Awful experience. Waitstaff has not been trained properly. Took forever to order, get drinks and had to ask 3 times for bread. Food took forever and wasn't good at all. Cold and bread was dry. Waiter got our order wrong, asked to speak to manager about our experience and she was super rude.

So many other great restaurants in Milwaukee. Don't waste your time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We always enjoy our dining experience at this restaurant. The food is always great and the waitstaff ( waitress, waiter and bartender) have a vast knowledge of wines. Their suggestions are always right on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastiche Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Pastiche Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pastiche Bistro & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.