We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodizio Grill

Rodizio Grill
777 North Water Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3508
+1 414-431-3106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #253 of 1,418 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wells St and Water St
Description: Rodizio Grill is the first authentic Brazilian Steakhouse restaurant or Churrascaria in the United States. It was establish in 1995 by founder and President Ivan Utrera, a native Brazilian born in Sao Paulo. Rodizio Grill is an award-winning restaurant featured in many national media, including USA Today, The Washington Post, CBS News, NBC News and others. Today Rodizio Grill, the Brazilian Steakhouse restaurant, is a beloved and bustling restaurant that currently operates restaurants nationwide, with several units under development.
Lake Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First Class Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 NEW

Spending an evening with several friends turned out to be not just a meal, but a unique dining experience - one that everyone should enjoy at least once. The atmosphere is soft and inviting - the service is professional and alert to your needs - the food, well, I cannot say enough about that. We dined for two and a half hours on lamb, ham, several various cuts of beef, pork, sausage, turkey, warmed slices of pineapple (as a palette cleanser) - and this doesn't include the extravagant salad bar, where a vegetarian could have a first class feast. The servers (note the plural) were all attired with Brazilian outfits, and were very attentive to each and everyone of our food requests. The wine room was two stories tall and filled to the brim with extensive choices. This is a must do for diners with a bit of a spirit of adventure. Bravo, well done.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha Wisconsin
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW

I have been wanting to try a Brazilian style steak house and Rodizio fits the bill. We went on a very quiet Monday evening, but were treated very well. The salad bar not the best term, for it conjures up less than tasty images for me. In addition to a wide variety of creative salads (and the normal salad bar items), there are dinner sides, soup, beans, etc that can accompany one's meal. The meats keep coming, in small amounts, so that one can taste everything (16 varieties of beef, pork, chicken and fish). I didn't have anything that was not done just right and was very good. Since going, we have several other couples who want to join us for a night at Rodizio Grill. The service was very attentive (it wasn't crowded, though).

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

My husband and I ate at Rodizio Grill back in November before attending The Lion King musical while it was in town. We had eaten at Texas de Brazil before it closed in Chicago, so we were hoping for a similar experience. We made a reservation online, and we were promptly seated, and the wait staff was excellent. The buffet had a wide array of choices, and we could go up as many times as we liked. We did have a Groupon coupon that allowed us to try all of the appetizers & get a free bottle of wine, so that was a nice perk as well. The meats were very tasty! We enjoyed trying them all. The restaurant & restrooms were also very clean. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place with a group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Very fun place!! You really have to love meat. Great place to bring a group. There are so many varieties of meat to try and there is a nice salad bar as well.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“"Beware OF Bacon Fest"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Visited this restaurant now two times in two weeks and have been disappointed! The wait staff AND the Gaucho's are NOT INFORMED BY THE MANAGEMENT about current specials. We as customers ask different questions to our wait staff about the menu and special promotions and they do not have the answers. The wait staff tell us "Bacon Fest" is over and we have to tell them what our email messages have told us and also what their web site states. The information we have that brought us here today was that "Bacon Fest Has Been Extended". The wait staff did not know this. We then had a manager come to our table to ask him what the offering were. We were told there was a cold meat at the salad bar wrapped in bacon and that a skewered pork was wrapped in bacon. The Lombo Com Queijo (pork loin grilled with parmesan cheese and bacon they have regularly on their daily menu. Not much of a ''Bacon Fest'' celebration. When you order (we ALWAYS) order the "Full Rodizio" that includes the salad bar with soup AND the Grilled Skewered meats. Our waitress brought the three appetizers that are included with your meal and served in abundance. The menu states that these are "Freshly Made" the Polenta AND Pao de Queijo (cheese bread balls) " WERE HARD AS ROCKS" At the salad bar I did enjoy the Salad de Morangos (fresh strawberry salad) and the Macarrao(delicious hot pasta salad.) The penne pasta with Alfredo sauce, was anything BUT FRESH. We liked the addition or the fresh Parmesan Wheel of cheese. This was our second visit in two weeks as I stated and on the first visit this pasta was almost depleted and dried up. On this second visit the pasta chafing dish is full and dried up. I did see on this second visit a staff member (who I think was a table busser)go to the salad bar and open the chafing dishes and stir the items but by this time the past was too dried up. The skewer meats were coming WELL DONE AND DRIED OUT. At the beginning of dinner service the meats seemed to be carried over form Lunch service the Tri-Tip was very over cooked and dry out. The Lombo Com Queijo pork loin was dried out, but the bacon was still opaque and still under cooked. Over our years of dining at this Rodizo Grills location the service has improved somewhat, but the staff need more daily updates from the management. The chairs have been reupholstered nicely with complementary colors that add nicely to the restaurants decor. My problem with the chairs now is that they need to be firmed up, they are wobbly and unstable. We keep coming back to this restaurant hoping that it will be an improved dining experience. I think that the restaurants appeal for us is its warm inviting setting. We look forward to the visit that will be a ''complete dining pleasure experience'' at this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodizio G, Manager at Rodizio Grill, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for letting us know about your disappointment with our execution of Bacon Fest. This absolutely shouldn't have happened. We greatly apologize & would like to make it up to you. Please email your phone number to: reviews@rodiziogrill.com so our local manager can call to discuss.

Thank you in advance.

Sincerely, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodizio Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rodizio Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodizio Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.