We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEW HOURS AS OF FEB.17.2014” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodizio Grill

Rodizio Grill
777 North Water Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3508
+1 414-431-3106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 1,409 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wells St and Water St
Description: Rodizio Grill is the first authentic Brazilian Steakhouse restaurant or Churrascaria in the United States. It was establish in 1995 by founder and President Ivan Utrera, a native Brazilian born in Sao Paulo. Rodizio Grill is an award-winning restaurant featured in many national media, including USA Today, The Washington Post, CBS News, NBC News and others. Today Rodizio Grill, the Brazilian Steakhouse restaurant, is a beloved and bustling restaurant that currently operates restaurants nationwide, with several units under development.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“NEW HOURS AS OF FEB.17.2014”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I got an e-mail from Rodizio Grill NOW THEY ARE CUTTING THEIR HOURS. I didn't know when they started but was in town and HUNGRY for lunch here Tue. 2/18/14 and already they WERE NOT OPEN FOR LUNCH! New hours: Mon.-Thur 4:30-9:00 *Private group events may be scheduled during lunch hours. Fri. & Sat. 11:30-4:30 and 4:30-10:30 Sun. Brunch 11:30-3:00 And 3:00-9:00. SO that means they ARE ONLY OPEN FOR LUNCH on Fridays and Saturdays. NEW is FREE PARKING avail.with Min. purchase of a FULL RODIZIO REQUIRED. At 720 N. Water Street Garage.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Dissapointed by mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We expected much more from this establishment. The concept was new to us with different types of meat offered constantly to the customers, but the quality of meat was average at best. We were there for lunch, perhaps at dinner they serve better selection of meat. Among all the offerings, the sweet and spicy chicken was pleasant, pork was passable, but we did not get descent tender beef at all. The sausages were bland and bad. Some exotics were served such as roasted pineapples.
The so called Millionaire coffee was very good, whereas the desert rabanada (a warm cinnamon pastry with a creamy center, served with vanilla ice cream and laced with caramel sauce) was only mediocre. I liked the interior of the restaurant. Staff was quite efficient and it was interesting to try different things in salad bar, but in general we were quite disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Things have changed here.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have dined here for both lunch and dinner and have seen some changes. The servers help each other and at most times you don't have any one server. There ends up being confusion who you are suppose to ask for things; clean plates. The salad bar used to have more choices like mixed nuts and fresh grated parmesan cheese. Gauchos bring skewers of different meats and pineapple to your table if you are ordering "the full rodizio". Sometimes the gauchos don't come out of the kitchen often enough. Some of the guests put their "skewer tongs" on their dinner plates(instead of the small saucer)and thus getting contaminants onto the skewered meat. The restaurant has gotten new tables in the main dining room BUT DESPERATELY NEEDS NEW CHAIRS. The chair they have are very wobbly and the chair pads are VERY stained. I grabbed along the chairs sides to scoot my self closer to the table to be SHOCKED PUTTING MY HAD INTO SOMEONE DISPOSED CHEWING GUM. We will dine here again but hope that this restaurant will correct it's flaws. The mushroom soup tasted watered down and no beefy/mushroom taste. There soups need improvement. The stroganoff and mashed potatoes on the salad bar are very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you remember Sabor, don't comer here, the standards have changed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We came here for dinner, me remembering how great Sabor was and wanting my boyfriend to experience the Brazilian steakhouse concept. The standards have since gone down.
Don't get me wrong our server was great but the food paled in comparison.
The salad bar variety was ok, more pedestrian than before but a lot of the items were just bland.
We had the top sirloin first and it was good, when we got the one that was cooked medium rare. Unfortunately everything after that was overcooked, dried out pork loin, dried out pork sausage, boring chicken thighs, and my old favorite the Parmesan pork, was a shadow of its former self. The flavor was completely different and not in a good way.
The roasted pineapple was pretty good and I liked their non-alcoholic drink options.
To top the disappointment, I watched the manager go to every table around us, twice to the one on my right and ask how everything was and did not once even look our way so much as come to our table.
Service like that seals the deal for me on a place I would not go back to. Too many other great options in Milwaukee, don't waste your $32.99 here!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sabor was much better - this place is disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We have decided not to go back to Rodizio Grill for anything other than drinks in the bar. The bar is very pleasant and the caipirinhas are terrific. The salad bar is fresh without a great deal of variety. The service is only fair and the selection of meats pretty meager. The gauchos do not make frequent enough trips with the various selections so diners are often waiting for something specific, such as our favorite, the picanha. The only side dishes brought by the water is the fried bananas, cheese puffs and mozzarella sticks. Other Brazilian steakhouses bring the side dishes of mashed potatoes and black beans. If you want these, you have to go to the salad bar and these offerings are NOT kept hot enough. The choices of desserts is not that great, either. On a Sunday night with an evening performance of The Nutcracker beginning soon, it was sparsely occupied. Very disappointing successor to Sabor. Also, the furnishings are being allowed to get very beat up. The most noticeable thing was that the upholstery of the dining chairs is badly stained and spotted. Pretty disgusting to sit on.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodizio Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rodizio Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodizio Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.