We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Gyros in Milwaukee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakland Gyros

Oakland Gyros
2867 N Oakland Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53211-3566
414-963-1393
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,338 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“The Best Gyros in Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Located on the upper East side of Milwaukee. This is the best Gyros you will find in the area. Come in hungry and you will leave full. Very large portions at a great price. You will enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    24
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
corrales nm
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Come Hungry- Leave Full”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

First of all, I'm from out of town and it is quickly obvious that this is a neighborhood favorite. I can understand why, because this place feeds you and I mean feeds you. I had to eat through about half a pound of gyros meat with a fork before I could begin to wrap by chops around the pita and the remaining half a pound or more of meat. As far a taste goes- I've had better and worse but certainly decent. Incredibly fast service and I noticed someone on staff helping an elderly patron bring food to his table. The atmosphere is non-descript but certainly better than the 5 Guys Burgers across the street... which is essentially a checkered feedlot (okay, that's another review)Short story... a good place to get a hearty meal at other than a chain restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Gyros”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

When ever we are looking for a quick tasty dinner, this is where we head. We come hear at least twice a month ( and we don't eat out very often).
We usually split a Gyro Platter with salad. It's a lot of food for two us us to split, but there are days when we get our own dinners. I love the chicken too.
The gyro meat is fresh carved, not sitting in a bin and then grilled to warm up like some gyros restaurants
The place is always clean and the staff friendly.
I strongly suggest everyone tries it

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Greek music and Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very good had the chicken. Athenians half chick and two Dolamades extra feta. 79 cents for the extra. All very good. Greek music played while I dined in a some walk fast causal setting

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hands Down Best Gyros In Milwaukee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

OG's has the hands down best gyros in Milwaukee! If I ever want a gyro, this is where I go. You get a lot for your money. They load on the gyro meat and you get a good serving of fries. The service is always really good, and I have never had any problems with my food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland Gyros also viewed

 

Been to Oakland Gyros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakland Gyros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.