We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to your reviews!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakland Gyros

Oakland Gyros
2867 N Oakland Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53211-3566
414-963-1393
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,409 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Thanks to your reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

New in the area and wanted to grab something fast but good. So I decided to check my Tripadvisor app and there you go.....you are rated! It is indeed the best gyros and garlic sauce I have ever tasted. The beef is tender. Try the platter, serving is big, be sure to ask for a to go box and extra sauce! I will surely come back here and who knows might drive all the way from Chicago just to eat here! Price I would say is reasonable. I will come back no question asked. And I went to the one 530 West Layton Ave Milwaukee WI

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    23
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kokomo, Indiana
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“An Oakland A+...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

In this day and age of sore-loser-chain-restaurant flotsam and jetsam, I ache for a place like this. Friends suggested I come here. It's your busy inner city corner joint where you place your order and step aside, but in a matter of minutes a bundle of food is in your hand. If you're hungry and want a meal for your money, this is a place to come. There is much to choose from which makes return trips necessary to enjoy more from the big menu. If you love gyros that aren't skimpy and the crispiest, hottest fries and food that will fill you up...come here. The counter can get be fast paced, though there is an area to sit down and chow down. Worth it all. Popular place and worth the lines and the wait, but things move quickly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Go to Locust and Oakland. The owners walked around and made sure everyone was enjoying their food. They came around and gave ice cream cones to all the kids. Food was great. Also, one of the employees booted away a person going around and disrupting customers by asking for money. Excellent service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Gyros around.. Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Everytime I have Gyros I compare them to Oakland Gyros ... I have yet to find better. Everytime my sister & daughter come to Milwaukee from California, they always ask to go to Oakland Gyros. The Gyros, sauce, pitas are always fresh and delicious! Both the regular and chicken Gyros are great. And as others have said, the servings are very generous. This is a very casual place (one could almost say fast food ... but the quality is so much better). Order at the counter, and eat at your table or take out. Right down the street from UWM and Riverside High School. Great prices too!! You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“PLACE IS GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

this place hasn't really changed in years, and that's what is great about it, the food is as good as I remember from 20 yrs ago which is hard to say now a days-----best gyros in town and great prices

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland Gyros also viewed

 

Been to Oakland Gyros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakland Gyros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.