We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your appetite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakland Gyros

Oakland Gyros
2867 N Oakland Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53211-3566
414-963-1393
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,338 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Best gyros in the midwest! They also give you a full thing of cucumber sauce, so you can put on as much as you want-no limit. It is a lot of food. Just a gyro sandwich could easily be 2 meals. Great price, too, for as much as you get.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    24
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Seriously, don't hesitate. Go to this restaurant and order a gyro. Right now. It's amazing!!!!

We drove up during a visit to Chicago, and a former local had recommended this place to us. We were so glad to have met her and taken her advice. The gyro was so large that when I was full, it didn't look like I'd eaten any of it. I highly recommend eating here!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent tasting gyros”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is one of my son's favorite restaurants. We all like the food. It's very tasty and plentiful. We don't go more often because it's processed food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“awesome gyros platter and greek frys. hmm think ima go back for lunch today”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

this place is awesome, i ordered the gyros platter and Greek fries. i will start with the gyros platter. they give u a large amount of perfectly slice and tasting gyros over a bed of rice "can get other sides". the gyros were awesome. the Greek fries were something new to me but dang they were GREAT. this place had great customer service and very friendly (unlike some other places close by that i tried) the prices are very affordable and on the cheap side. super fast at giving me my food. i ate there for lunch yesterday and i think im going back today.... thanks Oakland gyros

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“perfect gyro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Found this place thru the trip advisor app as we needed something quick before our flight out of Milwaukee. The gyro was the best I've had in a while, the meat was very tender and sliced perfectly right off of the spit and it was piled high on the pita. And my favorite was that they serve a full size squeeze bottle of tzatziki sauce with every gyro! The staff was also quite friendly, as she made sure we got refills on our way out the door. If you are by the MKE airport, definitely stop here for some delicious Greek food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland Gyros also viewed

 

Been to Oakland Gyros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakland Gyros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.