We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat your heart out Chicago...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martino's Italian Beef

Martino's Italian Beef
1215 W Layton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53221-2432
414-281-5580
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #289 of 1,410 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Eat your heart out Chicago...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Chicago is not the only place you can get a great hot dog or a fantastic Italian Beef. Martinos has been the place to go in Milwaukee for classic Chicago style hot dogs and Italian Beef sandwiches. The menu of greatness does not stop there. So go...you won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“martinos is a classic chicago hot dog stand in milwaukee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I dined at martino's on a friday night and ordered two chicago style hot dogs with ketchup. both hot dogs came perfectly made with all the items that make a chicago style perfect! pickle, tomatoe, celery salt, peppers, onions and mustard! The hot dogs are 100% beef and they were served with poppyseed buns. in addition, both hot dogs came with delicious hot fries, at no additional charge! their menu was amazing, tons of chicago style items and home made desserts. prices were reasonable and food delicious and authentic!





Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Foodies - you must make the trip to this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I was in town on business and remember seeing this place on a food show.

I went for lunch and WOW the Italian beef was beyond excellent. The beef was tender and had GREAT flavor. The roll was classic homemade Italian. I ordered the first one dry.

I had to return my second day to try one "dipped" one. I loved them both.

When you go - try one each way. They are very inexpensive.

I can't wait to return to Milwaukee I mean Martino’s!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, cleanliness could be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stopped in recently on a Saturday afternoon for Chicago style hot dogs and chili dogs. The dogs and fries were very good but the lobby was not very clean. The floor was really in need of mopping and we couldn't find one table that didn't have grease and crumbs on it from previous customers. While we were eating, an employee did come around and wipe some of the tables but that was after we sat down at a dirty table. I didn't enjoy it as much because it just felt like the place was dirty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wi
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth the drive, excellent food, large portions, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We have driven by this restaurant many times when in the airport area but never stopped. After reading an article in the Journal Sentinel restaurant reviews about hot dog places some time ago decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. Hubby had the Italian beef, portion was good and taste was excellent, had mild peppers and cheese added. I had the Reuben Dog which was a special of the day, kraut dog with swiss cheese and thousand island dressing, yum. They serve Vienna Hot Dogs which have the necessary snap and texture found if you get dogs in Chicago. I usually don't like most french fries but the cheese fries and plain fries here were good, not too salty, moist and tasted like actual potatoes. They have malts and shakes which we did not try, will have to go back. Menu looked like one you could find in Chicago. They were once featured in Man vs Food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martino's Italian Beef also viewed

 

Been to Martino's Italian Beef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martino's Italian Beef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.