We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, a lovely meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sala

Sala
2613 East Hampshire Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53211
414-964-2611
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #297 of 1,431 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Once again, a lovely meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Once or maybe twice a year, Two friends and I make the drive to Sala da Pranzo just east of UWM on the east side. It's a favorite reunion spot for us. Small, casual, with local artwork on the walls. I have never been disappointed in the food, the patience of the staff to indulge us as we catch up what's been going on, and the prices are decent. We can sit for a protracted length of time, and we have never been rushed to leave. Last night's waitress, Jordan, was a sweet, friendly young woman who knew her stuff and was gracious and helpful. We three friends will be back again in a few months. It's a lovely tradition. Oh, and I recommend the Bolognese, if they have it as a special, as they did last night. YUM!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    0
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A great family place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We visit this restaurant several times a month.

It is very unassuming but the food is meraviglioso!

No one has better daily specials on Italian food. The appetizer through the entres are all your best bet but anything on the menu is done very well.

I recommend the Beef Carpaccio but the Bruchetta are great.

The veal is always amazing and the Chicken Saltimbocca is also.

And the pizza they make, Boursin and Pepperoni, WOW!

Service is good and the owners are so attentive!

What a love.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We go to Sala Da Pranzo every once in a while. This time the menu had slightly changed. I was in the mood for Chicken Limoncello but it had been removed from the menu. The waitress said the kitchen would still make past items for regulars and sure enough the dish was exactly as I like it. The serivce, atmosphere and food was as great as ever.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Were we at the Right Place?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I read on Onmilwaukee.com that November was the 10 year anniversary of Sala, and there was a coupon on their website for 25% off the food bill. I had always heard great things about this place, so my wife and I decided to try it.

To my surprise, the best part of the meal was the bread- all the other food was bland. Olive oil w/ Grated Parm for dipping the bread- bland. Caesar salad- bland. Both pasta dishes- bland and bland. It was not that the food tasted BAD, it just did not have much flavor. A diner should be able to identify flavors in a well prepared dish. This was not the case.

My wife and I eat out 2-3 times per week, and frequent many italian places that are MUCH better than this- Il Mito, Mia Famiglia, and Ann's just to name a few. To all of you singing Sala Da Pranzo's praises, please try one of those places. I think you will notice a considerably higher level of quality, at similar prices.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, WI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Atmosphere - Superb Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We went with a large group for a bridal shower and, were ourselves showered with attention. Starting with a few bottles of wine in the little outdoor front patio area and the best bread and olive oil dipping mix! For dinner, we selected a "family style" and oh my gosh!!! We started with a salad that in itself could have been a meal, followed by pasta, an Italian type chicken, meatballs, and simply gourmet pizza. WOW.. I think this was the BEST meal I have had when out for dinner - EVER. You will be so glad you decided to dine at Sala Da Pranzo!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala also viewed

 

Been to Sala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.