We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Lulu

Cafe Lulu
2265 S Howell Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53207-1325
414-294-5858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 1,409 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

A group work visited Lulu's for a special celebration. We have visited several times and have never been disappointed. The cheddar melt is excellent. It is difficult to choose between the chips or the slaw so our group tends to choose both! The blue cheese dip for the chips is sooooo good and and they offer a generous portion. Four of our five had the soup of the day and they all loved it. One in our group always orders the tuna sandwich and has never been disappointed. The food at Lulu's has always been great. Service is good and it is truly a great place to dine now that smoking is not allowed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
411 reviews 411 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Bay view diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Lulus was a great place to go for the Fourth of July. It cooled down enough for us to sit at the outdoor tables. While it was air-conditioned indoors, it was simply too loud to Caryonah conversation. Our server was very good and the food was good basic unfair. The hamburger was tasty with homemade potato chips and a bit of coleslaw. The pizza had too much bread. Had I known it would be placed on fix bread, I would not of ordered it. It was supposed to be a spicy pizza but it really was not. These are not meant to be complaints but only to point out that this is a good basic restaurant. Don't expect anything fantastic are out of this world. Or, it is very good for a neighborhood dining spot. order the Loulou chips with blue cheese. Great way to start the meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Long Wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

They weren't very busy when three of us went there on Father's Day. We parked right in front of the building, and we were seated right away. A promising start, right? We ended up having to wait over 45 minutes for the food to arrive. Two of our meals were lukewarm, and the third was closer to cold. It was just eggs, pancakes and potatoes, nothing fancy, so there's really no good reason for the lack of service and cold food. Take away the nice appearance and the trendy neighborhood, and you're left with the diner where Dagwood Bumstead eats lunch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“They changed all the bread! Terrible decision.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

This used to be a favorite stop. I'm disappointed to order my usual to find out they changed a great thing. The sicilian melt was amazing until they changed the bread and made it so salty that I couldn't choke down the rest. Something else was also different about it but I can't put my finger on it. They also changed the bread on the buffalo burger which changes the taste drastically. Very sad. I used to rave about this place, too. The waitress was also very unattentive and the place was pretty much empty. She had her back turned to us at the bar while talking to a fellow employee and and I don't know if she acted like she couldn't see or hear us or really didn't but it was embarressing as we tried to get her attention several times as she walked in our direction. I can't say I'm excited to go back any time soon.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“In Up and Coming Bay View area of MIlwaukee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Very trendy but food was just okay. Very busy, hard to get a seat especially on the weekend for breakfast

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Lulu also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Lulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Lulu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.