We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chancery Pub & Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chancery Pub & Restaurant
4624 S 27TH St, Milwaukee, WI 53221-2104
(414) 282-3350
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #240 of 1,389 restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Restaurant details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Service is good and there is a good variety of food for everyone in the family. The one near us has different things going on for the kids each night, including a magician who goes from table to table.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    4
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have visited the Chancery many times, but my most recent visit came after an absence of about a year. The difference in the food was dramatic. The pulled pork sandwich contained minimal barbecue sauce with several pieces of fatty meat. The meat clearly was scooped out onto the bun as it appeared in a rounded mound on the bun. My two dining companions were simililarly disappointed with their meals. The saving grace was the attentive service. A disappointing visit; probably my last at this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, sd
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pricey for pub fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food was ok, but not great. Service the same. I adore French onion soup, so I tried it. Mediocre at best. I had to put some of my mom's crispy onion strings in it since there was very little onion, and the broth didn't have much flavor. Her wrap was just average.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black River Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love the pasta!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My fiance and I were on a business trip and this place was only a few blocks from where our hotel was. The first time I had their pasta, which you pick the pasta, sauce, meat, and three toppings (either for $8 or $11 depending on what size you order)---that was delicious! Second time I had the cashew stir-fry with shrimp---that I didn't like so much. That was a matter of personal taste and ordering it thinking I would like it rather than how it was made. But ordering a meal I ended up not liking was made up with ordering a dessert that we both devoured: the cookie skillet. Its chocolate chip cookie dough baked in an iron skillet and topped with ice cream, chocolate syrup, and whipped cream and served with a shot glass of milk. Yum! And for $4 for a dessert two people could share that was a good deal, too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Onion rings are huge quantity and their salmon is melt in your mouth. Lemonade is expensive at 3.50 a pop, no free refills.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chancery Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chancery Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chancery Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.