We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the worst restaurant that I visited at al” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Benihana

Benihana
850 N Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-1802
414-270-0890
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #652 of 1,338 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Sharm el-Sheikh, Janub Sina', Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“one of the worst restaurant that I visited at al”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Was one of the worst restaurant that I visited at all. the Manager sabah that is her name was arrogant treatment of customers reflect the complete ignorance of the profession of strange hotels, I found the word on the bill tip 15% I did not know that he and the imposition of force on a tip without consent. i ,ll never come back to that restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Not very in to Japanese food, but if you are food seems to be good for what I know about Japanese cuisine......

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Benihana, a Mexican restaurant not a Japanese restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We went to Benihana in November and all signs point out to me that this place was really a Mexican grill. Those Mexican cooks have no idea how Japanese food should be cooked.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Benihana is an enjoyable experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Benihana Milwaukee is a fun experience whereever you find one. This one had nice staff who gave good service. I had been to another Benehana in Minnesota which was a little more fun because we had a fun chef and fun tablemates. On this visit it was just the three of us at the table. It was still fun b/c my wife and son had not previously been to a Benihana.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had a large group consisting of first timers as well as veteran sushi lovers. Half of us wanted hibachi and the other half wanted to take up the All-You-Can-Eat sushi special that they have during weekdays. The hostess was very rude from the get-go and informed us that we cannot be seated unless all members of our party were present. The place was empty with only a couple sitting at the sushi bar! And this older lady who was in charge was also very rude. She kept reminding us that the rest of our party was late and that we should not have made a reservation if we were going to be late. I felt like they didn't even want our patronage. The rest of our group showed up and explained that they were stuck in traffic because of State Fair. The older lady then told the hostess to not let us be seated upstairs and to seat us at a table downstairs. I didn't know what the big deal was. Everyone that came in after us was escorted upstairs.

Nevertheless, we were hungry. The bartender and the hibachi chef were amazing and polite. They talked to us and helped us with questions. The food was AVERAGE. It wasn't amazing or special in any way. The hibachi chicken was very dry. At other Japanese restaurants, the hibachi is around $13 and it comes with the choice of either fried rice or noodles. At Benihana, the hibachi chicken was $20 and then they charged you $3.50 extra for rice. and another fee for the hibachi exhibition. I knew that this place was going to be pricey, but the food wasn't even worth it.

I definitely prefer Japanica or Fujiyama over Benihana! Those places have reasonable prices with no random fees and better sushi/hibachi.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benihana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.