We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The King of India” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maharaja Restaurant

Maharaja Restaurant
1550 N Farwell Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-2366 (Lower East Side)
+1 414-276-2250
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maharaja Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #332 of 1,409 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Cross street: Albion & Brady
Transit: 30 Farwell & Albion
Description: Milwaukee's Premier Indian Restaurant Derived from Sanskrit, Maharaja meaning "great king" features traditional Indian cuisine inspired by the most northern regions of Punjab and Rajasthan, to the more tropical southern regions of Bengaluru and Tamil Nadu. From the unique variance of our daily lunch buffet to our more distinctive a la carte menu, Maharaja will take you on a culinary journey through the largely diverse subcontinent of India. As the Maharaja's who once reigned, you too shall experience only the finest India has to offer.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The King of India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Great Indian Food. Great lunch buffet! The best galub jamum in town. Just go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Maharaja is a Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Four of us came here for Saturday night dinner. It wasn't particularly busy, but our waiter seemed very stressed out. Our food was excellent, if a tad spicy for my tastes. The entrees, rice, bread and garnishes were all very good, but our waiter was very out of sorts. He brought us the wrong bill three times. We finally paid the last one even though it still wasn't right because we were overdue for our next engagement. The food was good enough to return, but we hope we will get another waiter.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Slow and inconsistent, but decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I've been to this place about 3 times recently, and I'm not sure if I'll be going back for a while. Each time service has been incredibly slow (more so than the usual relaxed pace of most Indian restaurants); however, all of the staff were polite and when/if we could their attention, things were addressed mostly timely. I enjoy their chai and mango chicken, but the chicken always a little bit different each time (not in a good way). The cheese and vegetable pakoras are bland but ok. Finally, the garlic naan is inconsistently either good or disappointing (the last I had was quite disappointing, almost had a metallic taste). I'd recommend this place if you don't mind taking your time and having a little bit of mystery with your meal.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian food, good value, esp good for groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011 via mobile

Our go-to spot for Indian food when in Milwaukee. Casual atmosphere, good value, very good good generally. Favorites include: fish vindaloo (spicy), biryani, eggplant dish (medium), mango chicken. Never had a bad dish really. The naan is a bit dry for my taste but still perfectly acceptable.

Authentic enough for Indian-food lovers but also a nice intro for those new to the cuisine -- a broad menu w mostly North Indian food but some Southern specialties as well. You can dictate heat level.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb Quality of Food for a buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Midday on a Sunday, it was busy with people from all walk of life. We were a bit apprehensive to see the layout of the buffet and rather much of the customer were non ethnic.
However, we were blown away by the variety and more specially the quality of the food. The ''Goat Curry'' were extremely lean yet succulent as they have been in the sauce for a long time. Chicken tikka were very freshly cooked and crispy. The chefs definitely did not hold back too when they were making the hot chili sauce.
For $10.95 per person with freshly made nan-bread brought to your table and designated free parking lots for customer across the road, this is THE BEST BUFFET FOR QUALITY AND VALUE that we have had so far in Milwaukee.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maharaja Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maharaja Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.