We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great after all these years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pitch's Lounge & Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pitch's Lounge & Restaurant
1801 N Humboldt Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-1699 (Lower East Side)
(414) 272-9313
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #496 of 1,431 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Still great after all these years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It had been quite a few years since I had been here, but on a recent trip to Milwaukee we stopped in for dinner. The ribs are great as I remember, but the real treat is the fried eggplant--something I find hard to find outside of Milwaukee. The eggplant is done perfectly, crispy and firm, not soggy like other places. Great atmosphere from a time where ambience and service were a requirement, not a luxury.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greendale, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A terrific Italian Restaurant with great Ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This Italian restaurant serves great ribs and is a real Milwaukee treasure. The prices are very reasonable, portions are good size and the wait staff is very friendly. Is a very cozy and comfy restaurant in the Brady Street District. Definitely a place to go for a good meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, but beware!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

They charge 2 dollars for a tiny glass of coke full of ice with no refills! The waitress keps asking if we wanted more coke and we ended paying a lot

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gold - It's a Supper Club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My date and I were looking for a late night Friday fish fry dinner (8pm) and came across Pitchs. This place is a benchmark "standard supper club" on the East Side. You'll be welcomed into the bar area - we had a drink before dinner and met the other bar patrons - very social bar area - a blast!! Dinner, the waitress brought a bread basket, bread sticks, butter, etc. Great Vibe! In the dinning room, we even asked that they turned the lights down (turned up for the old folks), and they turned the lights down, perfect ambiance. The fish fry(s) were awesome!! I would go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Cozy Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Always on the hunt for a restaurant that serves great bbq, I decided to give Pitch's a try for Father's Day.

Having heard that Pitch's has a supper club atmosphere I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It had a cozy atmosphere and it was neat and clean, something you don't expect at an older restaurant.

Pitch's tout's itself as having nationally famous barbeque baby back ribs so I knew what I was having when I got there.

I had thought my father would order ribs too since I picked out the restaurant for him, but he ordered T-bone Steak. My mother ordered the ribs and chicken. My husband and I were the only ones to order the full rack of ribs.

The appetizers we ordered before the main course were good. I particulary enjoyed the Rumaki, water chestnuts wrapped in bacon. The egg plant and shredded onion rings were also good.

Given a choice of soup or salad, all but my father ordered salad. The salads were a nice size and tasty. My father enjoyed his soup.

When our main course arrived, it looked really appetizing. Our ribs were meaty and had a nice robust flavor. My father ordered his steak medium-well but it came well done. My mother was happy with her ribs and chicken.

I would say Pitch's does not have the best ribs in town, but they are better then some of the other places that claim to have good ribs.

The food at Pitch's is good, the atmosphere is pleasant and the service is outstanding. I would not only go back, I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitch's Lounge & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pitch's Lounge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitch's Lounge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.