We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Dinner”
Review of Crazy Water

839 S 2nd St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1822 (Walker's Point)
414-645-2606
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #6 of 1,383 restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Walker's Point
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    93
    27
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Crazy Water
See the most recent reviews
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went here with my family to celebrate my B-day this year and had a great meal. I find the specials are usually excellent - had an exceptionally well-prepared veal loin crusted with pistachios. An old favorite appetizer is dates stuffed with chorizo. Mascarpone cheesecake was best of the desserts

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Crazy good! A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I went to Crazy Water with my wife for a nice pre-theatre dinner. We'd been trying to get in here for months, but never got organized enough. We arrived around 5:15, hopeful but with no reservations. We could have had a table if we wanted to leave by 6:30, so we decided to sit at the bar instead, which worked out well enough. By 6:00 pm, the place was packed. We started with appetizers - I had three of the baked bluepoint oysters and my wife had a salad with kale, feta, poached apricots, and other yummy stuff. I had a mushroom-crusted pork tenderloin speical with roasted carrots, and my wife had halibut with grilled asparagus. I lost track of all of the details, and these were evening specials, so they may not be repeated. We also enjoyed a glass of prosecco to start, and I had a glass of Chateau Coutet St. Emilion with the pork (a surprisingly good match, based on the sauce and mushrooms). We skipped dessert, as we'd had enough with the regular food.
There are a lot of interesting wines by the glass, and stuff you usually don't see except by the bottle. That gives you a nice chance to try different things, which I like.
It's a bit cramped and noisy for a really special occasion, but the food is fabulous. I would go back soon, the next time we're looking for something really nice.
It's not an everyday place for us, since we'd rather not spend $100+ routinely. But, it's a nice change when we're up for something a bit special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unique and Incredible Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a small-ish restaurant in an old store-front. But, the food is fantastic and the entrees are made at the end of their bar. Some of the best food in Milwaukee--if you love food and great atmosphere you have to go here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Only OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had high expectations which were not met. The atmosphere is good even though the space is tiny and you can barely move. We loved the building. Our server was very cool, never friendly, and no smile. Service was inattentive. My appetizer of pork belly was delicious. But my entree of mushroom dusted sea bass was not good. It was thickly coated with mushrooms, like a breaded chop. When it came I thought the wrong food was delivered. It was black with a very dark sauce that I would serve with a red meat. The fish was so overpowered. I did like the mushrooms. My husband had a special of a veal chop which he said was decent. Our wine was good. It seems like the chef is trying to be creative but doesn't have the knack at combining ingredients. We will not go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best in Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have lived in Milwaukee my whole life and this is my favorite restaurant in the city overall. I eat out fairly often, and like to stay up on which restaurants are out there. Crazy Water offers the most for the money in terms of food, atmosphere and service. You can have a great meal and drinks for two for $125 with tip. It's small, cozy, cool location and awesome food. Small menu is not an issue. 3 words...bacon wrapped dates

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Water also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazy Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.