We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Incredible Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crazy Water

Crazy Water
839 S 2nd St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1822 (Walker's Point)
414-645-2606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,410 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Walker's Point
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unique and Incredible Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a small-ish restaurant in an old store-front. But, the food is fantastic and the entrees are made at the end of their bar. Some of the best food in Milwaukee--if you love food and great atmosphere you have to go here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    38
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskego, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Only OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had high expectations which were not met. The atmosphere is good even though the space is tiny and you can barely move. We loved the building. Our server was very cool, never friendly, and no smile. Service was inattentive. My appetizer of pork belly was delicious. But my entree of mushroom dusted sea bass was not good. It was thickly coated with mushrooms, like a breaded chop. When it came I thought the wrong food was delivered. It was black with a very dark sauce that I would serve with a red meat. The fish was so overpowered. I did like the mushrooms. My husband had a special of a veal chop which he said was decent. Our wine was good. It seems like the chef is trying to be creative but doesn't have the knack at combining ingredients. We will not go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best in Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have lived in Milwaukee my whole life and this is my favorite restaurant in the city overall. I eat out fairly often, and like to stay up on which restaurants are out there. Crazy Water offers the most for the money in terms of food, atmosphere and service. You can have a great meal and drinks for two for $125 with tip. It's small, cozy, cool location and awesome food. Small menu is not an issue. 3 words...bacon wrapped dates

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food good vibes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We ate at Crazy Water on a Thursday evening while visiting friends and family in Milwaukee. We had reservations and were seated quickly and given water and menus and told of the specials. We all chose different entrees: the duck breast, the salmon, the pork shoulder, and the tilapia. Everything is served with sides chosen to go with the entree, such as braised brussels sprouts, jasmine rice, bok choi, whipped potatoes, etc. we were all very pleased with the food and the service. We didn't have dessert, although the dessert menu was tempting. The decor is charming, and it is impressive that all the food is prepared in the tiny kitchen grill at the end of the bar. I would definitely eat here again if offered the chance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good, cozy and atmospheric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This smallish, atmospheric restaurant has lots of excellent Tripadvisor reviews - and they are well deserved. The night for our table of four was helped by a great server who spotted that a couple of dishes weren't knocking us out and without asking got the kitchen to deliver some add-ons that made our evening. There was nothing wrong with any of the dishes - just that a couple of the party thought their dish was a little underwhelming versus the menu description. I took a recommendation for the kale and citrus salad which was refreshing and clearly of the moment in terms of ingredients, followed by the duck breast, which was wonderful.

The restaurant is wonderfully cozy room, with a lot of the cooking coming out of a small kitchen integrated into the bar.

Overall a really good evening Well priced and inventive wine list. Really worth a visit - London would benefit from a couple of restaurants in this style.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Water also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazy Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.