We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cuban sandwich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cubanitas

Cubanitas
728 N Milwaukee St, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)
(414) 225-1760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cubanitas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #189 of 1,338 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Cuban sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Since living in Florida, I have not been able to find a good Cuban sandwich made with real Cuban bread. This was the real thing and it was great! Busy place and not alot of seating so glad we got there after the lunch rush. My husband had the black bean soup thought it was very good! Would definitely come back for more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    57
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I miss my cuban fix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is one of my favorite caribean restaurants. Great location, and outstanding food. Wow, you have been around for a while. Good for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Que Rico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having been to Cuba and lived several years in Nicaragua I know my cuchifrito and Cubanitas does it right. The Cuban sandwiches are large and worth the 7 bucks. They use the right white bread that stays soft on the inside but crisps up on the outside. The combo of ham, pork roast, pickle, cheese was heavenly. My husband wanted more mustard to come through but mine was just right. And the fried yuca was again hot, toasty on the outside and soft, squishy on the inside accompanied by the onion/vinegar sauce. I had a delightful Caiprinha and my husband had a Mojito-a refreshing reminder that summer will come again to freezing cold WI.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“One of Milwaukee's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is such a great place. Prices are affordable, service good and the food is so delicious. I have had just about everything on the menu and it's fantastic. Personally I am partial to the lechon and the empanadas de picadillo. The coconut ice cream is outstanding! The drinks are also fantastic.

Outdoor seating in the summer is great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fast Service, Great Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have never had a bad meal here. Everything is consistently delicious and the flavors are spot-on. The service is always fast, very professional, and friendly. Drinks are strong, but very good, and the restaurant has a great selection of rum-based drinks. The plantains are my wife's favorite, and we've gone there just to get our fill of those.

The only drawback I can see is that the restaurant echos a bit, and it can make it hard to carry on a conversation. However, the quality of the food and drinks far outweighs this issue.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cubanitas also viewed

 
Milwaukee, WI
 

Been to Cubanitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cubanitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.