We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love coffee shops - and this is my all time favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alterra Cafe At The Lake

Alterra Cafe At The Lake
1701 N Lincoln Memorial Dr, Milwaukee, WI 53202-1377
414-223-4551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 1,405 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love coffee shops - and this is my all time favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Built in a 100+ year old pump-house, this is THE place along Milwaukee's wonderful lakefront. The coffee is, of course, wonderful. The Expresso Shakes are so good they defy description. (My carb free wife finished my shake before we'd left the city on the way home and I had to stop and another Alterra to get one for myself.) The atmosphere is exposed wood and brick with high ceilings and a working historic pump room attached to the main building.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    39
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Easy and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perfect place to enjoy coffee and light meal. Great location on the lake. Easy to get to although parking is limited. Lots of ambiance in an old pump building. Great place to bring out of town guests.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The drinks at Alterra are made with better quality then some other coffe shops. The price is a little bit more, but worth it. The food is always good as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Coffee and bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Located on Milwaukee's Lincoln Memorial Drive across from the Milwaukee Yacht Club and along the east side lakefront bike path, Alterra is a gathering place for many eastsiders who sit outside in the warmer months or just enjoy the quaint interior of this historic building. Parking can be a little difficult at certain times of the day and season.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Used to like Starbucks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Until we found an Alterra Cafe in Milwaukee. Wow, what a treat - - this cup of coffee was bold and rich, and felt as if I were wrapped in a cashmere blanket !! Not only was the coffee superior, but the choice of breakfast entrees was perfection. Actuallly, when I order oatmeal, it's only because it's good FOR me. But, this bowl of oatmeal was like a fine dessert. To me, it was a ramequin of heaven. Thick yet creamy, with brown sugar and vanilla, and chunks of cranberries and apples and the whole thing was baked. Fabulous. There were burritos and breakfast sandwiches as well. ANd there's more for lunch. When in Milwaukee, Alterra is a must stop. Starbucks could take a lesson or two here... The only downfall, at the Bayshore location, was that there are only 8 tables and a few bar stools. So, you may have to wait a few minutes; not to worry, it's so worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alterra Cafe At The Lake also viewed

 

Been to Alterra Cafe At The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alterra Cafe At The Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.