We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Anchorage continues to serve excellent fish entrees.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage

The Anchorage
4700 North Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212
414-962-4710
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,409 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Newly-upgraded for a more fresh, contemporary look, and located within the Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel, The Anchorage proudly received a 3 ½ out of 4 star review from the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. Long-known for its unique variety of tempting seafood creations, The Anchorage has a NEW MENU for its lunch and dinner service, now featuring Allen Brothers Steaks, signature seafood entrées, classic appetizers, and daily “Chef’s Specials”! Coupled with scenic views of the Milwaukee River, The Anchorage presents its guests with casual elegance in a panoramic setting that truly distinguishes itself as a premier dining destination in Milwaukee! Seasonal service on The Patio offers a very unique option for dining and socializing occasions. Private catering for banquets and meetings also available.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Anchorage continues to serve excellent fish entrees.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our whitefish entree which was delicately prepared with a lightly crusted pecan dijon finish. The crab cake appetizer was also very well done. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments! I'm glad that you and your husband enjoyed The Anchorage, citing two of our more popular items in the whitefish and the crab cakes. Equally glad to read that you will be back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    25
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverdale, Georgia
1 review
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Spent nine nights at this property!Excellent service.Check-in, check-out. Front desk staff outstanding.Restaurant,room service, housekeeping, maintenance,doormen, unmatched by other hotels. Very warm, family oriented & accommodating. Special Thanks to you Kathy, your & your staff set the pace. Peace & continued blessings.D&J Mc

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind comments and compliments about both our acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage, as well as on our hotel and staff members! All very appreciated!

We do feel that we collectively have a very personable and unique hotel environment, highlighted with a restaurant like The Anchorage, which is about to celebrate its 40th anniversary! Our scenic location accents our well-known seafood creations, and all served/prepared by a great staff!

We also appreciate your comments related to the other departments and staffs of the Hotel aside from The Anchorage, and encourage you to also recognize them accordingly on the Hotel's dedicated Trip Advisor listing. (We have one just for "The Anchorage", and another just for "Hilton Milwaukee River" for your convenience.)

We all do look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Hilton, the hotel in which this restaurant is located. We ate here 4 times.
Dinner the first night was awesome. Had the walleye, and it was perfect.
Dinner the second night was the swordfish, again unbelievably tasty.
We had breakfast twice. Each time we had the eggs Benedict. Wonderful.
Servers were attentive and friendly. Hostess Meagan, bartender Brian, and waitress Kelly need special commendation.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your patronage of our Hotel, as well as these insightfully positive comments about the high quality of the staff and entrées of The Anchorage.

Soon to celebrate 40 years of dining excellence in the area, The Anchorage is well-known for its unique seafood creations.....and you sampled two of the more popular offerings in the Walleye and Swordfish selections. Additionally, our Breakfast Buffets that include Eggs Benedict and Smoked Salmon are rivaling the dinner courses!

This is all done by a dedicated staff within a picturesque setting along the River, all making for a great dining experience that you enjoyed.

Should your travels bring you back to the area, we look forward to being a part of your lodging and dining!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Charles Mo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hi
Just to note to say how wonderful Sandy and Brian are, we also got to see Ray. The bananas foster cheesecake was the best!!.

As alwayss wonderful service and food - Kile was great too! MJ DC

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks again for your comments and return patronage of The Anchorage!

Glad the service and friendliness of our staff members that you mentioned were equaled by one of our more tempting dessert selections!

Also, it is always nice to read the word 'wonderful' when describing our efforts for service and quality here!

Please visit again soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, Usa
2 reviews
“great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

the folks at the Anchorage are the best - Sandy, Ray, Jill and Brian make you feel right at home when you are away from your own family - I would highly recommend a meal or drinks here sometime. The restaurant and hotel are also a great location from Bayshore and close to downtown as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so very much for your comments, especially as they pertain to our staff members!

The combination of a dedicated staff (both the waitstaff in front and the chefs in back), a unique location, and great entrée choices have made The Anchorage an area dining icon for nearly 40 years!

Hope to welcome you back again soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchorage also viewed

 

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.