We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great times indeed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage

The Anchorage
4700 North Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212
414-962-4710
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,409 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Newly-upgraded for a more fresh, contemporary look, and located within the Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel, The Anchorage proudly received a 3 ½ out of 4 star review from the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. Long-known for its unique variety of tempting seafood creations, The Anchorage has a NEW MENU for its lunch and dinner service, now featuring Allen Brothers Steaks, signature seafood entrées, classic appetizers, and daily “Chef’s Specials”! Coupled with scenic views of the Milwaukee River, The Anchorage presents its guests with casual elegance in a panoramic setting that truly distinguishes itself as a premier dining destination in Milwaukee! Seasonal service on The Patio offers a very unique option for dining and socializing occasions. Private catering for banquets and meetings also available.
St Charles Mo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great times indeed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hi
As the others staying at the hotel and planned to have dinner there knowing how awesome the restaurant and bar are!!

The liver and onions was great and pecan encrusted fish ( can't remember name) Sandy as always was wonderful. Don't forget Brian at the bar, he is a true delight. Great food, great times, relaxing atmosphere.
I must compliment the lovely hostess whose name I can't remember.

Ray/Jill we missed ya but Sandy & Brian keep the ship a float.

Hope to return later in the year. MJ DC

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about both our wonderful staff, as well as our unique entrées featured at The Anchorage!

Sandy and Ray lead a dedicated staff that includes Jill and Brian at our bar. And Chef Jerry Taylor leads a culinary staff that has made The Anchorage an area icon for dining, featuring great seafood in addition to classic favorites!

Glad to read that you enjoyed it all....staff, entrees, and ambiance.....and look forward to your next visit!

-- Michael
Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    25
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had the occasion to dine at The Anchorage twice in the last few weeks, once for lunch and once for dinner. For lunch I had a salad entree. For dinner, a perch selection. Great food both times. In addition, the service was outstanding and the views of the river were nice, including seeing some ducks swimming by. The Anchorage does not disappoint.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent dining outings here at The Anchorage!

I'm glad to read that the combiantion of our unique menu and seafood creations, our serene location along the Milwaukee River banks, and our attentive wait staff all made for perfect event!

The Anchorage prides itself as NOT being the typical "hotel" or chain restaurant outlet, with over a 35-year dining history in the area!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good food, good times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Staying at the Hotel, too cold and lazy to go anywhere else so with good reviews and decided to have dinner here.
Everyone is friendly, trying to please and give you the time to enjoy your meal.
The steak is good which is expected. The liver and onion is excellent, one of the best I had so far.
The bread pudding is so delish...I want second.
Somehow everything works, even people across the table are talking to us because we all feel at ease and relax at this fine establishment.
We came back for the Sunday Brunch buffet the next morning, absolutely worth it with the usual breakfast items plus smoke salmon, eggs benedict, omelette station and more bread pudding (different version from the night before but still good).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about The Anchorage!

While being noted for its seafood selections, The Anchorage also offers other very popular items such as the steaks (Allen Brothers) and liver and onions (done the old-fashioned German way!).

And I'm glad you did save room for dessert! The bread pudding is homemade here, and along with the seafood, is quickly becoming a fan-favorite!

Hope to welcome you back soon....and not just due to cold travel weather!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our group meets once a month, generally at the Anchorage with a range of 30-55 people per time. The executive Chef is Jerry Taylor and he always cooks our meals. The Chef outdid himself at our last meeting and the praises were non-stop (of course, the praises come to me or other board members and not to him). I appreciate being able to concentrate on the guests and speakers, because I am never worried about what we are going to eat or the quality of the service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments and kind observations following your luncheon reception, especially concerning our Executive Chef, Jerry Taylor! All very appreciated!

We are very proud of the many unique services and amenities here at the Hilton Milwaukee River...with The Anchorage being the most prominant!

The same staff that accommodates our a la carte diners within the restaurant itself also prepares the meals for our catered evenys as well, assuring your guests of the same great quality that The Anchorage is noted for!

We look forward to your continued patronage!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remscheid, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The breakfast buffet was great! The food provided in the bar, as well as the flexibility to serve bar food in the restaurant was perfect!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments!

We are quite proud of The Anchorage, as it is definately not your typical 'hotel restaurant'!

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed the quality of service, including the unique styling for all facets of our food service from breakfast to bar.

Hope your travels bring you back to Milwaukee and to the Hilton Milwaukee River and The Anchorage!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchorage also viewed

 

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.