We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage

The Anchorage
4700 North Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212
414-962-4710
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 1,309 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Newly-upgraded for a more fresh, contemporary look, and located within the Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel, The Anchorage proudly received a 3 ½ out of 4 star review from the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. Long-known for its unique variety of tempting seafood creations, The Anchorage has a NEW MENU for its lunch and dinner service, now featuring Allen Brothers Steaks, signature seafood entrées, classic appetizers, and daily “Chef’s Specials”! Coupled with scenic views of the Milwaukee River, The Anchorage presents its guests with casual elegance in a panoramic setting that truly distinguishes itself as a premier dining destination in Milwaukee! Seasonal service on The Patio offers a very unique option for dining and socializing occasions. Private catering for banquets and meetings also available.
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had the occasion to dine at The Anchorage twice in the last few weeks, once for lunch and once for dinner. For lunch I had a salad entree. For dinner, a perch selection. Great food both times. In addition, the service was outstanding and the views of the river were nice, including seeing some ducks swimming by. The Anchorage does not disappoint.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent dining outings here at The Anchorage!

I'm glad to read that the combiantion of our unique menu and seafood creations, our serene location along the Milwaukee River banks, and our attentive wait staff all made for perfect event!

The Anchorage prides itself as NOT being the typical "hotel" or chain restaurant outlet, with over a 35-year dining history in the area!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    27
    18
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good food, good times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Staying at the Hotel, too cold and lazy to go anywhere else so with good reviews and decided to have dinner here.
Everyone is friendly, trying to please and give you the time to enjoy your meal.
The steak is good which is expected. The liver and onion is excellent, one of the best I had so far.
The bread pudding is so delish...I want second.
Somehow everything works, even people across the table are talking to us because we all feel at ease and relax at this fine establishment.
We came back for the Sunday Brunch buffet the next morning, absolutely worth it with the usual breakfast items plus smoke salmon, eggs benedict, omelette station and more bread pudding (different version from the night before but still good).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about The Anchorage!

While being noted for its seafood selections, The Anchorage also offers other very popular items such as the steaks (Allen Brothers) and liver and onions (done the old-fashioned German way!).

And I'm glad you did save room for dessert! The bread pudding is homemade here, and along with the seafood, is quickly becoming a fan-favorite!

Hope to welcome you back soon....and not just due to cold travel weather!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our group meets once a month, generally at the Anchorage with a range of 30-55 people per time. The executive Chef is Jerry Taylor and he always cooks our meals. The Chef outdid himself at our last meeting and the praises were non-stop (of course, the praises come to me or other board members and not to him). I appreciate being able to concentrate on the guests and speakers, because I am never worried about what we are going to eat or the quality of the service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments and kind observations following your luncheon reception, especially concerning our Executive Chef, Jerry Taylor! All very appreciated!

We are very proud of the many unique services and amenities here at the Hilton Milwaukee River...with The Anchorage being the most prominant!

The same staff that accommodates our a la carte diners within the restaurant itself also prepares the meals for our catered evenys as well, assuring your guests of the same great quality that The Anchorage is noted for!

We look forward to your continued patronage!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remscheid, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The breakfast buffet was great! The food provided in the bar, as well as the flexibility to serve bar food in the restaurant was perfect!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments!

We are quite proud of The Anchorage, as it is definately not your typical 'hotel restaurant'!

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed the quality of service, including the unique styling for all facets of our food service from breakfast to bar.

Hope your travels bring you back to Milwaukee and to the Hilton Milwaukee River and The Anchorage!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the adjoining Hilton Milwaukee River and choose to dine on-site at The Anchorage. The front desk clerk told me they specialized in steaks and seafood, but being from and in the Midwest I was somewhat skeptical on the seafood. I was wrong. The fish I had was excellent. The flavors all blended well and were not too overpowering. Their breakfast buffet was also very enjoyable with a variety of dishes to choose from.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about our restaurant, The Anchorage, during your stay with us at the Hilton Milwaukee River! I trust that all was to your liking!

We do pride ourselves on the fact that The Anchorage is not your standard 'hotel restaurant', but rather a 'destination' establishment, celebrating nearly 40 years of service in the area!

While its popularity lies in our tradition of great seafood entrées, with our product flown-in fresh from all coasts, you were told correctly by our staff that we are also well-known for our other non-seafood specialties such as Allen Brothers steaks.

I'm glad that we turned your skepticism around, and look forward to having you stay with/dine with us again!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchorage also viewed

 

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.