We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Downtown Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swingin' Door Exchange

Swingin' Door Exchange
219 E Michigan St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-4902
1(414) 276-8150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 1,309 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are located in the historic Mackie Building in downtown Milwaukee. Come visit us for great food, fine spirits, good people and the history of the buildings architecture, as well as the famous "Grain Exchange" located upstairs. Can't find a place to park? Stop in for a $2 voucher for off street parking!
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Downtown Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Went here before a show at the Riverside. In close proximity - a short walk to the theatre. We found the cocktails to be strong, the beer cold and the bartender was nice. We had planned ahead to eat our dinner here due to the good tripadvisor reviews.

They had a ribeye special for $10.95! We were seated at the bar near the kitchen and a kitchen guy kept coming out to the bar bringing out food orders, and so I asked him about this ribeye for $10.95 (thinking that at that price it just can't be any good). He laughed and suggested I try it.

Very very tasty, grilled as ordered medium rare, and I was very glad I ordered it. We also had some deep fried shrimp that had a good shrimp flavor - not just all breading. Homemade potato chips were a great treat as well.

A fun place with good food - I have to recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swingindoorexchange, Owner at Swingin' Door Exchange, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I'm glad you tried it too. Thanks for your kind words and for giving us the opportunity to accommodate you. Hope it was a great concert!
KC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    43
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A downtown must stop and try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

In town and staying at the Hilton Garden Inn on Broadway. Returning late, noticed the place, gave it a try and dined here 3 times over 6 days. Absolutely enjoyed the food and drink . A bit noisy on the speakers, but find the right table. Service and food is great and at excellent and fair prices. Maybe the 4th visit on my last evening stay.??!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swingindoorexchange, Owner at Swingin' Door Exchange, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for your support. It's nice to know you enjoyed our establishment enough to keep coming back even on such a short stay. And by the way, I can agree with you, we are looking into some sound solutions. Thanks again. KC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I must thank my fellow trip advisors for the great heads up on Swingin' Door! Went here this past Saturday night and couldn't have been happier! We showed up about 45 minutes before our reservation and they were more than happy to accomodate us! We were greeted warmly, and fell in love with the place for it's quaintness and lovely people! Oh, and I should also mention that the food was the BEST food we had all weekend, and the price.... oh my gosh, we had an incredible dinner and drinks for less than we spent on parking for a night in downtown! WOW!!!! It's a great spot!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better then average food + good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Friendly, better then average bar food with daily specials at decent prices makes this a good place for a quick no-fuss dinner or drinks

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent little hole in the wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were recommended to go here for dinner on a Saturday night but ended up going on Sunday around noonish, We were surprised that they had a breakfast menu that looked wonderful. But, we ate lunch. The reuben was excellent with fresh pulled corned beef and 1000 isl the side. Great onion haystack too,,,had a nice seasoning to it. Price as perfect and the atmosphere was comfortable and interesting. Beautiful stained glass entry area at the bar,.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swingin' Door Exchange also viewed

 

Been to Swingin' Door Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swingin' Door Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.