We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but could have been better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee ChopHouse

Milwaukee ChopHouse
633 North Fifth Street, Milwaukee, WI 53203
4142262467
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Milwaukee ChopHouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,417 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Milwaukee ChopHouse began its critical acclaim six years ago. From the beginning it has earned a reputation for providing a spectacular wine list, a consistent classic menu, all while being delivered by some of the best service professionals the city has to offer. Our cellar is extensive and well thought through. With a list that was honored by The Wine Spectator with the Award of Excellence, how can one not find the perfect choice? The menu is a reflection of its classic steakhouse atmosphere. Some of the best steaks and chops are served along side the freshest seasonal seafood. Located in the heart of downtown, the Milwaukee ChopHouse is within walking distance of the theater district, sports venues, shopping and the lakefront.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great but could have been better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our service was incredible. I wish I remember our waiter's name, but he noticed we must have been celebrating a special occasion & offered a complimentary dessert and drink. My steak was prepared correctly, but my fiancee ordered her steak 'medium rare, on the rare side' & it was served medium to medium well. It still was delicious, but at the price you expect it to be prepared as ordered.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    39
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Better Then We Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I recently moved to Milwaukee and were excited to try some local restaurants. We decided on the ChopHouse because it was ranked 10th in Milwaukee and seemed to be "our style". From the moment we walked in, we were pleased. Everyone was beyond friendly, we were seated right away (which even though we had a reservation, we were surprised about, given it was a Friday night) and were given a beautifully comfy LARGE booth. Our waiter Derek, was very down to Earth, informative and friendly. He didn't try to be overly formal, he just acted like a real person, which we appreciate. Our table attendant, Milton, was also wonderful. He was so funny and sweet...we loved him! Those two really helped make our first visit to this restaurant that much better. Also, the manager took time to come to our table and make sure everything was to our satisfaction.

Now for the food...it was FABULOUS. One of the best dining experiences we've had in a while. We have NO complaints whatsoever. The steaks were like butter and cooked to perfection and the sides were delicious. Appetizer portions were a tad on the small side, but we had plenty of food otherwise, so we didn't really mind. You definitely pay for what you get, but if you're anything like us, you don't mind paying for an amazing meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“killer food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

if you want a downtown chicago restaurant downtown milwaukee, this is the place! everything is superb without paying the chicago prices. next time you want to go to a cubs game,skip the wrigleydump and head to millerpark and hit the bars around milwaukee.you will be hooked!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, WI
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very enjoyable chophouse experience. The steaks and appetizers were excellent quality. The side dishes, while good, were typical chophouse fare. Great wine selection and the service was perfect. Would recommend for those who don't mind paying chophouse prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Awesome New York Strip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

One of the best New York Strips I have ever had. Cooked to perfection with great side dishes topped off this incredible 22 ounce steak.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee ChopHouse also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee ChopHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee ChopHouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.