We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mader's

Mader's
1041 N. Old World Third St., Milwaukee, WI 53203
414-271-3377
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mader's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 1,409 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: German, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Old World 3rd St. and Highland Ave.
Hartford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Sunday buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The buffet has an excellent choice of breakfast and lunch entrees. We haven't been there for a while as last time we had the buffet the foods that should be at least warm were not. Unfortunately we had the same experience again today. The first time this happened we mention our thoughts to the waitress. She was totally disinterested in what we had to say. Today we had an awesome waitress but did not tell her about the temperature issue.
Dont know if this only happens when they offer the buffet as thats the only time of day we ate there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    109
    55
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When in Milwaukee we stop by Mader's - we were so excited that they put Liver Dumpling Soup back on the menu. They have a fabulous Sunday Brunch as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I went to Mader's many times as a child and had great memories. Recently I went back with my daughter and it was just as good as I remembered. We had great service and she offered wonderful advise on their many offerings. Everything we had was excellent! I asked for a recommendation on a German wine to have with dinner and that was really good too. Definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, MN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great service and food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our group had a lot of fun with the waiters and waitresses here. They were all very accomodating and fun to be around. The food was good and the german beer sampler was even better.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“German, Anyone?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Their food used to be extremely salty, but they have fixed the problem, and now it is VERY delicious. My family and I usually come on Sundays for the champagne brunch.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mader's also viewed

 

Been to Mader's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mader's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.