We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better microbrew eateries.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery

Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery
740 N Plankinton Ave Ste 1, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2403
414-276-3030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 1,410 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wells Ave
West Coast (of Lake Michigan)
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“One of the better microbrew eateries.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

There are many so-called "microbrew" restaurants out there, but many have average (at best) beer and your typical cheese burger/French fry menus. Not so for Rock Bottom. They have arguably the best home brew I've ever had, and in fact I asked if their beer was available outside of the restaurant setting (Unfortunately, not at this time). What's more is that their menu was surprisingly unique, with stuff you just don't see at places like this. I'd compare it to Cheesecake Factory with regard to selection/preparation, which is pretty good-- but then you add great beer, too? A very solid choice for downtown Milwaukee dining.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    131
    55
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North of Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Minimal Choice of Beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went on a Saturday afternoon about 2:00 so it was empty. They only serve their brewed beers plus Miller Lite. The beer I chose was the strawberry one and they were out of it. Makes no sense when you barely have any choices that you run out of beer. We just had a couple of Miller Lites, looked at the menu, it looked OK with several standard choices people have in most places, we decided to go someplace else for dinner. The place was very clean and cute, we just didn't love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda D, Guest Relations Manager at Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I am very sorry to hear that our beer choices were limited on your recent visit. I will be sure to share this information with our management team so that they can address the issues you mentioned. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please email me at rbsocialcomments@cwrestaurants.com and i will be in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I like the food and the place together with the beers only the front desk shows a little discrimination but the server is so good

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Appetizers were, so was the beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stop in quick for some snacks. The street tacos are spicy and good. If you don't like the heat, you better pass.
The jalapeño cheese dip was a good balance but easily thickened. So eat quickly or prepare to cut the dip with a knife.
Service was excellent. Very prompt with drinks, food, and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
657 reviews 657 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
716 helpful votes 716 helpful votes
“Great beer - decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I was in town on business and was walking around the Riverwalk when I spotted the Rock Bottom.

The place was packed and I found a seat at the bar.

I was impressed with their selection of beers and friendly staff. I liked the Naughty Scot Scotch Ale. Food was pretty good too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.