We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish Fry in Milwaukee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Packing House

The Packing House
900 E Layton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53207-5237
+1 414-483-5054
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 1,410 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $21 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Family owned & operated since 1974. We have something to please even the most discriminating diners! Ribs, steaks, seafood, poultry & veal. Weekday lunch, dinners nightly. Prime Rib on Wednesday, Saturday & Sundays. Friday fish fry. Live music in the lounge Wednesday thru Saturday nights.
Bluffton,SC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Fish Fry in Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Being a Milwaukee native, we have earned the right to select the best Friday Fish Fry in town. We love the Packing House for all around dining. Great Fish fry but it goes beyond that. I have held many business dinners at the Packing House while I was working. I'm retired now but have never, ever, been disappointed with the food, service, reasonable prices and cloth napkins and table cloths! The Packing house is a first class restaurant across from the Milwaukee Airport. We rate it our favorite Milwaukee Friday Fish Fry and a wonderful dining experience any day of the week. To prove my point, he Packing House has a "Drive Through" Friday Fish Fry that has its customers lined up around the block. Need I say more!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words and wonderful review! We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    46
    13
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Okay fish fry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place was nothing special. Fish was okay not great. They used to have a really good organ player every friday but now they're changing it up.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
I'm sorry the fish fry did not meet your standards. We get many compliments on it and sell several hundred a week. I would love the chance to win you back. Please feel free to contact me at: chris@packinghousemke.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

went with a group of 8 including young children. Lots of choices to pick from plus small entree brough to your table at no extra charge. Egg made to your liking and omlettes also. Friendly place, nice price. Yes, decor is maybe 80's but clean. We would go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments! Glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, SC
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Great drive thru Fish-Fry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We wanted a local fish fry but didn't want to wait do to having a hungry 5 year old. Perfect drive thru option! Only takes cash--think it was $21 or 22 for 2 fish fry's. Ton's of food. Exactly what we wanted, hit the spot. Thank you Packing house! See you next time we are in town!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you! We are very happy to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Food, Drink and Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We shared a filet which was cooked perfectly. The choices of beer and wine were very good but the banana cream pie was amazing.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Owner at The Packing House, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you! We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Packing House also viewed

 

Been to The Packing House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Packing House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.