We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throwback on the south side of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leon's Frozen Custard Drive-in

Leon's Frozen Custard Drive-in
3131 S 27th St, Milwaukee, WI 53215-4337
414-383-1784
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,410 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Californian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Atlanta
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Throwback on the south side of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Worth the trip south of town. Downtrodden area near St. Luke's hospital. A classic "drive in" style restaurant famous for its frozen custard. We got the Tin Roof sundae, in retrospect, wish we had gotten a cone with a flavor other than vanilla. A family owned business since 1942. Worth a visit -- not far from the airport -- could make a nice visit on your way out of town...cash only.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    35
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“You'll Dream About Leon's Custard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

There is not much to say....open since 1942 and still operated by the original family. There is only one reason that people return - their custard to incredibly awesome. We had butter pecan, though they rotate special flavors. Malts, shakes, sundaes, cones. Limited msandwich menu, but that's not why you're here.

Mapquest this treasure (it is on a main street, but is somewhat out of the way from downtown) then go. Open til midnight.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“original bee-bop fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Still takes you back to the 50's. Never fails to leave me feeling sorta 'cool' after stopping in for a 'nilla cone. I do miss the popcorn stand that was in the lot.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Custard in WI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Leon's is by far the best custard I've ever had. I live quite a distance but make the trip several times every summer. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Custard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A Milwaukee icon that rivals Kopp's in quality custard. Small parking lot in a busy location and outside service make this a little inconvenient.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon's Frozen Custard Drive-in also viewed

 

Been to Leon's Frozen Custard Drive-in? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leon's Frozen Custard Drive-in, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.