We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Taste of the French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanford Restaurant

Sanford Restaurant
1547 N Jackson St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-2001 (Lower East Side)
414-276-9608
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,302 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, International, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved the Taste of the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Last night we were the first guests to have the new Exploration Menu at Sanford. This is a menu item that changes about on a monthly basis. I was told it was inspired by a trip that the chef/owner took to the French Quarter of New Orleans when he was there to cook for a fund raiser at a really big football game, which maybe I cannot mention, so just will do like everyone and refer to it as the big game.
The menu was described as a Taste of the French Quarter and it was outstanding. The first course was an alligator sausage Po'Boy with a green garlic aioli. It had a small sour dough roll, very tender by the way, that was nicely toasted and the alligator sausage in it. I should have taken a picture, as it both looked and tasted beautiful.
Second course was a lentil gumbo with seared shrimp and okra. My only complaint was that there wasn't a quart of it. It was as good as it gets.
Main course was Quail Muffalata. Quail with an olive salad and instead of a bun, sesame dumplings. I asked and they ground sesame seeds after toasting them added some flour and made them like long gnocchi, finally rolling them in sesame seeds. A most different dish that was out of this world.
Dessert a praline tart with banana rum ice cream. A sugar cookie topped with banana slices that topped with the pecan praline and the banana rum ice cream on the side. I couldn't imagine doing it any better.
The service was outstanding, as usual and it was a great dining experience and adventure. All four courses for $49, not bad at all for special food.
(I will attempt to attach a photo of the quail muffalata dish.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    19
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
522 reviews 522 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
464 helpful votes 464 helpful votes
“Great food in a comfortable, elegant atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We've been here in the past, and were not disappointed on a return visit.

The seasonal menu focuses on local ingredients, freshly and creatively prepared. There are about 10 appetizers and 12 mains, and often a special. There is also a tasting menu with wines to accompany. Plenty of variety to please most tastes, from veges to fish to meats (including elk on our most recent visit.)

The appetizers themselves would be a lovely meal if you ordered a few. We had appetizers and mains, all delicious. I ordered the sturgeon for the main since it is the season; it came stuffed with tasty "crab hash" and carmelized onlons on top. My husband had the roast veal with bulgur. The acompaniements were great.

Nicely selected and well-priced wine list.

Friendly, professional service.

'Not a cheap place, but you'd pay more for a dinner like this in Chicago.

My only minor complaint this time: the kithen was slower than we remember, but we got a nice apology, and the tables were all full. It wasn't that bad a wait, and the food more than made up for it.

Nice modern-contemporary decor feels very comfortable, with nice flowers. If you need a restaurant for a special event, this place isn't stuffy but will feel special.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Memorable and intimate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is an intimate restaurant with impeccable service and very fine food. My partner and I shared a bottle of carmenere and it was a great wine for the beef tenderloin we ordered. The tenderloin was the tenderest meat with a truffle sauce, very delicious! Along with a special salad infused with several Italian delicacies, we enjoyed a pear and cheese appetizer that was wonderfully delicate. The ambience was refined and perfect for our romantic dinner, although I was glad the place wasn't totally full, or we would have felt a bit cramped.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best Milwaukee has to offer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We are self-described foodies that are quite familiar with NYC, Chicago, and Los Angeles restaurants. Sanford's compares with the best of the best. Make your reservation and expect impeccable service and delicious food!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Milwaukee must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

It is one of the best kept "Milwaukee Secrets." I always recommend to people that are looking to go enjoy a dinner that includes good food, service, atmosphere as well as generations of history. A place only found here in Milwaukee and a Milwaukee must especially for travelers
Would recommend reservations because it is a “cozy” place that fills fast. Also try something new or something you have never heard of, pretty sure you will enjoy. I also enjoy the detail and “plate art ” that appears with each course

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanford Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sanford Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanford Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.