We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye Candy for Collectors and History Fans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chudnow Museum of Yesteryear

Chudnow Museum of Yesteryear
839 North 11th Street, Milwaukee, WI 53233
+1 414-273-1680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 76 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Milwaukee nonprofit dedicated to giving visitors a glimpse into Milwaukee life between the world wars with authentic items displayed in store settings. Handicap-accessible guided tours are offered at no additional charge, and there is free off-street parking behind the building.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Eye Candy for Collectors and History Fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had a great time at this delightful treasure recently. The museum is a real eyeful, interesting, fun, and educational. Some people collect old clocks, jewelry, Depression glass, egg cups, cookie jars, collector cars and lots of other things. It appears that Mr. Chudnow collected it all! Not to worry. His entire collection is not on display. What is exhibited is a real treat for all ages. Marketing and design students can find roots of today’s advertising origins and art of persuasion. History students/buffs will have a field day. I wonder what Mrs. Chudnow said each time her husband brought home more “stuff.” I’d recommend this for all age groups. Staff was great, too

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chudnow M, Public Relations Manager at Chudnow Museum of Yesteryear, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for visiting! Mr. Chudnow first proposed a museum for his collection after he had filled the basement of their house with his hobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A New Take on the Streets of Old Milwaukee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I'm a history buff, and I concur with an earlier viewer about this being similar to the Milwaukee Public Museum's Streets of Old Milwaukee. The difference is that the Chudnow is Milwaukee between the wars, although there are some pre-WWI artifacts on display. MPM's Streets of Old Milwaukee is definitely turn-of-the-century and prior.

What I about the Chudnow and what make it different than Streets of Old Milwaukee is that each vignette is walk though; it's like you can walk into each 'shop,' be it the grocery store, or the ice cream parlor or the barber shop. They did not skimp on the displays. The immersion experience versus the behind the glass experience I think is great for any parent--especially you homeschoolers out there--that wants to get their kid to have a better feel for history.

I think the only thing I don't like are the mannequins. They're not creepy or anything like that, but clearly, this place is a labor of love and in this economy, may be running on a limited budget. As I said before, they did not skimp on the vignettes, but I kind of wonder if they ran out of money, as they fell short on the 'people' in the displays. Hopefully, as this place gets more visitors and makes some money they can replace the frumpy mannequins.

It costs just a few bucks and you can do the tour self-guided or with one of the staff members. I was fine with self-guided, but I also am familiar with Milwaukee history.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chudnow M, Public Relations Manager at Chudnow Museum of Yesteryear, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review! Great to hear that you enjoyed walking through each exhibit! The immersion concept was a major concept we created to set us apart from others. The mannequins were originally intended to be more humorous than lifelike, but thanks to the useful feedback of visitors like yourself we are actively modifying that idea now in April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Step back in time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Chudnow Museum is a great new addition to the already unbelievable history scene in Milwaukee! I discovered this museum last weekend and saw such a large collection of Milwaukee memorabilia I will have to go back again to make sure I didn't miss anything. Great price, great collection, friendly staff.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chudnow M, Public Relations Manager at Chudnow Museum of Yesteryear, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for discovering us! We have future events that showcase our collection as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Looking for something different to do on a rainy, late winter Sunday afternoon in Milwaukee, we came across this little museum with high Tripadvisor marks, and the Chudnow Museum of Yesteryear did not disappoint. It was a wonderful find, with an extensive collection of early to mid 20th century, Milwaukee centered memorabilia, with historic interest ranging from popular culture to politics. The staff is not only very accessible, enthusiastic and friendly, but, in the opinion of this product of a multi-generation Milwaukee family, also knowledgeable about their collection. It's definitely a terrific addition to the Milwaukee museum scene, and for those looking for something other, or more manageable to do, than one of the larger museums, this is a winner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chudnow M, Public Relations Manager at Chudnow Museum of Yesteryear, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are glad you made the trip! We love to give guided tours of our collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a personal tour arround the gorgous house. The price was great to get in and there was a collectables to see!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chudnow Museum of Yesteryear also viewed

 

Been to Chudnow Museum of Yesteryear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chudnow Museum of Yesteryear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.