We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Milwaukee Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   323 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Reading a couple of the negative reviews, I guess I just have to say that anyone, any hotel, can have a bad day. This place is in my top five favorite Marriotts I've stayed in - and I've stayed in a lot of 'em.

First, it's nearly new, and everything is in Marriott's new style: dark wood, lots of contemporary features, etc. Yet, they've managed to keep the 'old school' feel of the building they repurposed. Let's be clear, though - this was no remodel. Despite the age of the original building, everything is completely new here.

While I didn't eat at the restaurant, I did enjoy a couple of cocktails with Pat, the bartender, who was a wonderfully affable dude. He knows his stuff, and he was delightful to chat with.

The coolest part of my short visit was the executive lounge on the 2nd floor. As you exit the elevators, the lounge is at the end of a long hallway (think of the TV show "Get Smart" if you're old enough to remember) with two towering doors at the entrance. Using the key card to enter, the doors unlock like a huge safe, allowing entry. Sweet! Once inside, the food was plentiful and great.

Try this place. It's positioned to be a big part of Milwaukee's resurgent downtown - and you'll love it, too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Milwaukee Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about your experience! We truly appreciate the positive feedback and continually listen to every point of view. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    30
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
26
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

I was forced to stay at the hotel for work. My stay started pleasantly with a Thursday late night check and a great meal. It ended with me checking out and into another hotel in a rush hours before my plane departed. Problems? A few. I allowed my room to be serviced on once, and aside from making the bed hardly nothing else was done. Obviously, something is going on with housekeeping and the kitchen staff because 2 days worth of coffee cups, water glasses and the like were not cleared the Saturday my room was cleaned. I noted when I checked in, close to midnight, someone's breakfast dishes remained outside their door next to my room. When I arose the next morning still there.

Dining in Milloke was lovely the night I checked in as the dark haired male bartender was effusive and charming. He made me feel welcome. He should manage this restaurant and train all the staff. The Food was excellent so much so I looked forward to having the same meal before I left. I did so on Saturday (lunch) and the experience couldn't have been more different. The server didn't know the menu, food or bar, didn't approach my table for 12-15 mins after she (I'm looking at you, Brianna) and another young lady debated on whose table it was to serve. I was single diner ( former waitress and shopper) and not particularly imposing but I am particular. A few other issues occurred making the whole experience miserable. I asked at the front deck for hotel manager to call me in my room so I could talk to him and instead a Restaurant Manager called me and proceeded to argue with me about MY experience. Wrong, Wrong response.
If you have choices in hotels make them, in my opinion. I enjoy the Marriott - this does not do it justice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, Manager at Milwaukee Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Milwaukee Marriott Downtown. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.

As a valued customer, everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced in our restaurant and with the housekeeping service. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future.

I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience on the first night of your visit, and am genuinely sorry that we did not deliver that same level of service during the remainder of your stay. Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This is my hotel of choice when on business in Milwaukee. A relatively new hotel which makes it spotlessly clean and totally comfortable. Good executive lounge and avspeedy check in and out service. A nice bar and a good restaurant - you won't go wrong staying here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Milwaukee Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments! I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post about your experience. We are delighted to have you as a guest of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please let me know if I may ever be of personal assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is a great Marriott! It is it a newer property (June 2013) and very well-appointed. The rooms are a good size, the rooms are quiet. The concierge lounge is a huge space and the fitness center is well-equipped.
Everyone I encountered (from the valet to the front desk to the restaurant staff) were all extremely helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott on a Saturday night with a couple of wedding events happening in the hotel. I was wary when we went through the lobby about 10 pm as it was noisy - happy noise but noisy none the less. I am not sure if the hallways were monitored or how they kept the noise down around the sleeping rooms, but our room was quiet and we both got a good night's sleep. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable.

The staff was helpful and friendly. Valet parking was convenient and speedy - and in and out as often as you needed for the one day price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Milwaukee Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had read reviews and was excited to stay at this hotel. I booked a corner king room for $250 a night with tax. The lobby and the exterior of the hotel was really hip and fresh. The staff was incredibly nice and friendly. Check in was very easy and again everyone was very friendly and helpful. I had asked for a high floor and was booked on the 4th floor (not really that high). The room actually looked out on the massive air conditioners. The sound was really loud and the fans would kick on and off making it really noisy. I asked if we could be moved to a room that was a little quieter and the front desk was extremely attentive and switched our room. The next room- once we set our bags down there was country music playing. I just assumed it was a clock radio left on- but there was no clock radio. The sound was coming from the next door room. The music was not loud- but we could clearly hear the music and the entire conversation going on in the room next door. I was shocked at how poor the sound insulation was - we really could hear our neighbors complete conversation - and they were just talking normal volume. Since we had already asked to have our room switched we just decided to deal with it- we were going out most of the night anyhow and hoped our neighbors would not be too loud later.
Well- starting at 12 every time someone in the hall came home we could hear everything. The doors slammed, conversations in the hall. Long story short this hotel this is not a quiet hotel. It is a nice, clean, hip place but a quiet nights sleep is not something you will get here.
The final straw was the morning we checked out. It was a Sunday morning and promptly at 9am a loud banging started on each door - a woman yelled "Housekeeping". It was really loud and aggressive banging. I had forgotten to put the "Do Not Disturb" sign up- but I have never had housekeeping bang on my door early in the morning - especially the day I check out. Yes I should have put the sign up- but housekeeping could have been a little quieter at 9am on a sunday.

Overall- I would not recommend this hotel. I hate to say that because the staff was so friendly and the vibe of the hotel is great- but the room noise was intolerable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Milwaukee Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I apologize for the noise disturbance during your stay, clearly we could have found a room more to suitable to your needs and away from some of the hallway traffic. I also thank you for your comments about the warmth and genuine care of the staff, as well as the stylish appearance of the hotel. We do take your comments seriously and will work on noise remediation in that patricluar room to the best of our ability. I certainly hope you will once again consider the Milwaukee Marriott Downtown, and thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

this is one of the few hotels I'm willing to give the full rating too. If you can overlook the over-priced valet parking, there is nothing not to like. This is a beautiful property, fantastic rooms, super staff, quick, efficient and friendly - never had to wait a minute for anything. Fast and friendly check-in and out. Great rooms, clean, fresh, seem new. Great sleep. Great location and restaurants. My only advice is to park across the street at the $16 a night garage, it's quicker and more convenient than the valet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milwaukee Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee Marriott Downtown

Address: 323 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milwaukee Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown is a brand new full-service hotel that offers the epitome of luxury and convenience to make it one of the top hotels in downtown Milwaukee. Ideally located in the heart of East Town, this hotel offers easy access to Milwaukee’s top destinations including the shores of Lake Michigan, Pabst Theater, Cathedral Square Park, the Summerfest grounds, and the famed Milwaukee River Walk. This luxurious downtown Milwaukee hotel offers modern amenities including high-speed wireless internet, an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and flexible wedding, special event, and meeting facilities equipped with state-of-the-art lighting and audio equipment. Guests love to stop by Millioke Meat. Cheese. Beer. where they will enjoy a delicious menu of Midwestern cuisine paired with a wide selection of craft beer and wine. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, HD TVs with premium cable, and stylish design. Choose the Milwaukee Marriott Downtown and discover a Milwaukee, WI hotel destination that provides incomparable service and unprecedented style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Milwaukee Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.