We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a first choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Milwaukee Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   323 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not a first choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Positives include: Pleasant front desk staff during morning and afternoon shift. Trendy atmosphere.

Negatives: The room was clean but smelled unbearably like paint. Valet parking is outrageous at $30 per day. The morning valet was rude.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Milwaukee Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I am sorry to hear your expereince with the valet was less than positive and we will certainly address your concerns. Thank you for sharing your feedback, I was happy to hear the trendy atmosphere and warm staff were to your liking. Please reach out to me directly on your next visit to downtown Milwaukee, I hope we can become your first choice in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    33
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
28
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Over the years we have stayed at every Milwaukee downtown hotel and this new Marriott property is by far the best.

They differentiate themselves with outstanding customer service. Every single employee with whom I interacted created a positive impression. Very hard to do as a management team, and very enjoyable from the guest's perspective.

Check in was fast and friendly. Everything was well explained.

Rooms were spacious and perfectly equipped with multiple outlets at the desk, a coffee maker, excellent desk chair, and very comfortable wing chair for reading or relaxing. Beds were great.

Gym had several brand new life fitness ellipticals, treadmills and bikes as well as a few weight machines and dumbbells. Nice set up and 24 hour access.

We did not do breakfast but did have lunch at hotel. Menu is more towards meat so not much pasta, but many restaurant options walking distance.

Check out was 5 seconds ( a new standard for all hotels.).

Parking was $30/day for valet with unlimited access.

I reserve the 5th star only for the best, and this place joins some very elite company.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I usually stay at the Iron Horse but decided to stay here and was glad I did. The rooms are great, large enough, great bar and restaurant.

I ordered room service and they did a great job.

I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Milwaukee Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for trying something new and for choosing to stay at the Milwuakee Marriott Downtown! On behalf of the entire staff we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and dining experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed one night Dec 29th to go to the art museum and attend a show at the Pabst. The motel is in a great location for walking to the theatre, and I wanted to try a newer place. The room was comfortable, but the 2nd floor hallway had an unpleasant smell, which was still faintly noticeable in our room. Don't know if it was just a temporary thing, since they seem to still be doing some finishing touches (no mini-fridges installed yet). The shower had a great rain head, but the shower curtain was mildewy, so it just made you feel like the bathroom wasn't clean enough. My husband had to do some work on his laptop, and was very disappointed that there is a charge for wifi. The desk clerk did end up granting him free access, but I would think that free wifi would be standard these days. The staff in the motel and the attached restaurant were extremely polite and accommodating. I loved the big fireplace in the main lobby, and the overall décor. The food at the restaurant was mostly forgettable, but there are lots of places near the motel to walk to.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Milwaukee Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for joining us that Milwaukee Marriott Downtown, I appreciate your comments about the fantastic staff service and overall decor, but do apologize for the condition of the shower curtain. We are already addressing your other concerns and please know that your feedback allows us to correct anything that may not exceed your expectations. Thank you again, and please reach out to me personally here at the hotel if there is anything I can do for you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

I've recently had to travel to Milwaukee frequently on business. Shifted to the new downtown Marriott after first stay in one of the historic hotels. It's a beautiful hotel with a great lobby library and comfortable rooms, but what makes the hotel shine is the staff. From the curb to front desk through to the staff in Millioke (the restaurant), everyone is warm, friendly, helpful but crisp and professional. New hotels sometime take a while to hit their stride, but not here. Really impressive.,

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The beds were really comfortable & rooms were clean and the hotel staff was friendly & efficient. It has a Starubucks attached. I would stay here again if in the Downtown area. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars was the pool size (which was smaller than what you'd see at a Fairfield Inn), and the continental breakfast had a few issues (no bowls set up for the cereal, bug in the water, not crisp bacon), but we did enjoy our dinner of chopped salad & flatbread.

Room Tip: There was a partial lake view on the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very nice new hotel with a perfect location. Still has that new hotel smell and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Finally a good new hotel in downtown Milwaukee. I was surprised that I wasn't given a suite upgrade as a Platinum rewards member

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milwaukee Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee Marriott Downtown

Address: 323 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milwaukee Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown is a brand new full-service hotel that offers the epitome of luxury and convenience to make it one of the top hotels in downtown Milwaukee. Ideally located in the heart of East Town, this hotel offers easy access to Milwaukee’s top destinations including the shores of Lake Michigan, Pabst Theater, Cathedral Square Park, the Summerfest grounds, and the famed Milwaukee River Walk. This luxurious downtown Milwaukee hotel offers modern amenities including high-speed wireless internet, an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and flexible wedding, special event, and meeting facilities equipped with state-of-the-art lighting and audio equipment. Guests love to stop by Millioke Meat. Cheese. Beer. where they will enjoy a delicious menu of Midwestern cuisine paired with a wide selection of craft beer and wine. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, HD TVs with premium cable, and stylish design. Choose the Milwaukee Marriott Downtown and discover a Milwaukee, WI hotel destination that provides incomparable service and unprecedented style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Milwaukee Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milwaukee Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.