We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a contender” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lakefront Brew Tour
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“What a contender”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I will start off by saying this is now one of my favorite hotels and I've certainly stayed in a lot of hotels in my time; now I've been with the Hilton brand for only a few years now but I am becoming more and more of a fan.

This hotel is a classic experience from its location to the architecture.

Most notable facts:

Clean
Felt very welcomed
Customer Service is amazing
The rooms look great with the high ceilings
The hotel itself has historical tour facts throughout that allow you to peek into the past.
Wonderful location and valet service
Staying here for business purposes made my travel less stressful

Lastly, the price of the hotel is a good value!

I would certainly stay at this hotel again when I am in town next year.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Matt

Thank you for selecting our hotel for your most rescent trip to Milwaukee and for your loyalty to our brand! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of our hotel including our housekeeping department, customer service, and our histroric building. I hope we will get to see you again soon. Thank you for sharing your expeirence!

Best Wishes,

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    102
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
77
106
12
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn, and from the time we walked in, we knew this could be good! We decided to use the valet parking, and the valet was friendly and courteous. I walked up to the front desk and Theresa (sp?) was there with a warm smile. I got there early, but she was able to get me checked in, and coordinated having my close family next door. The building is super-cool, if you enjoy early 20th century touches...well renovated/recreated touches like lots of glass, marble (and faux marble), tall ceilings, arched windows looking into an atrium and metal. My room was huge...as in, king bed and two rollaways would've been no problem! The bathroom was large as well. Two people could easily be getting ready at the same time in the morning. Every room had a fridge, microwave and Keurig. Plumbing, heating, TV, etc all were updated. All of the staff that we interacted with were friendly...valet, front desk, restaurant server, bartender, and housekeeping. It was easy to walk to the Public Market, bars, restaurants, and the ever-present Starbucks. If our travels take us back to Milwaukee, THIS is where we'll stay!

Room Tip: It's a bit nicer to have a room that looks out over Broadway St, rather than adjacent buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Cathy

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for your most rescent visit! i am so glad that you enjoyed valet parking, your interaction with Theresa, our location, and our historuc buidling. Thank you again for the nice review. Hurry back!

Best Wishes,

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got four rooms here for a great rate. Megan and the other front desk staff were kind and efficient. The valet was nice also. The historic beauty of the building is what really made the place great, but the place does not feel old. We were told it has just recently been turned into a hotel. We had a large room on the fifth floor and the elevator got us there in record time. We did not try the restaurant, but it looked nice.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Betty

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your most rescent viist to Milwuakee. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience and that Megan was able to make a difference! I have shared your comments with her. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I hope you can make it back soon!

Best Wishes,

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were only going to stay at this hotel one night for a concert, but our stay ended up lasting a bit longer due to a medical emergency and hospitalization. Everyone at the hotel was extremely kind and they went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. Kerisa at the front desk was exceptionally wonderful. She took care of us so we could take care of our friend in the hospital. (By the way, Colombia St. Mary's is also fantastic!).

The building is beautiful, definitely a gem and worth seeing. The rooms were large and well appointed, with very comfortable beds. The location is ideal for exploring the Third Ward, the Public Market, the Riverwalk, bars, restaurants, and the Riverside Theater.

The hotel was already a 5 star in my books, but the kindness and high degree of service from Kerisa and Tyler and and the others just made this an exceptional stay. Thanks to everyone there for everything you did for us! We'll be back, hopefully without a medical emergency next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in several rooms, and all were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
ChiMoniGans

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience with me. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit! I hope your friend is doing better. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our historic buidling, our location and your interactions with our staff. I hope you can make it back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Nick Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Milwaukee is a well-located hotel in a beautifully restored nineteenth century building that was formerly an insurance company's headquarters. It features a dramatic five-story atrium with a grand staircase, terrazzo tile floors and decorative iron railings. The rooms are very nice and the service is very good.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Richard

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for you kind words. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed some of the historical elements of our building and that you are happy with the service from our team members. I hope you are able to join us again soon. Thank you again fo the nice review.

Best Regards,

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean Room. Nice Ambiance. Perfect for someone who like primitive/historic buildings.
Very nicely maintained.
Staff is very amicable.
Front desk is awesome !
Breakfast served is almost perfect for most of the traveler across the globe.
Doesn't take too long to reach at most of the places from here.

I would recommend a stay here. Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Jigar V

Thank you for your nice review and for choosing our hotel for your most rescent trip to Milwaukee! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our historic building, location, breakfast, and team members. I hope you will visit again soon!

Best Regards,

Nick Johnnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The restaurant has a very impressive Breakfast full of omelets, fresh fruit, healthy options and bakery items. Full bar/restaurant makes it easy to do business without having to exit the hotel with the extreme cold weather that tends to hit Milwaukee during winter months. Hotel is close to summerfest grounds. Close to excellent night life and restaurants in the 3rd ward and downtown.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Karl

Thank you for taking the time to shar eyou er experience! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, and location in downtown. Please visit again soon!

Best Regards,

Nick Jonnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.