We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building and rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed n Breakfast Deal
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Beautiful building and rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are very clean, must have been recently upgraded. The ceilings in the rooms are very high and looks majestic. The bathrooms are huge. Service was A+. Breakfast very good and economical.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ada G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Ada

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your experience. I am so glad that you enjoyed the high ceilings in our rooms. I hope you can make it back soon!

Thank you again.

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The interior and the location of this place can't be beat. What can be beat is the air conditioning, at least in our room, where it was 80 degrees all night long. After several visits from "the guy," they finally gave us another room with working AC. And they were pleasant and very nice about the whole thing, and even gave us coupons for free wine at the bar. Just wish that first night had been better . . . .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALTSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! I am very sorry about your air conditioner and your uncomfort the first night. I am glad to hear that we were able to make things right for you. I hope you can visit us again soon!

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We spent a Sunday night here and got in 1 hour before check in. They upgraded is to a humongous corner room. I loved that they kept the old safes when it used to be s bank. The only complaint is that there was quite a bit of road noise. But the room was clean and very spacious

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Lisa

Thank you for your kind words, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and the corner room. I hope you will be able to visit us again soon!

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

centrally located and within comfortable walking distance of most downtown activities (river / lake boats to W, museums & lakefront shoreline spots to E, historic third ward to S, & essential watering holes all around). housekeeping services leave a little to be desired (they're either a little short-staffed or some of their staff isn't overly motivated) but otherwise this is a well-done hotel retrofit into a historic building and where the history of bldg is told via signage & photos throughout. but since there's no realistic place for a pool then a rooftop terrace or bar would be nice.

Room Tip: ask for E-facing or S-facing rooms (those sides face streets instead of back)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ba84ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed our location and remodeled historic building. I am terribly sorry that you experienced less than satisfactory housekeeping services. I have very high standards for our housekeeping department, I am sorry that we did not meet these for you. I will be sharing your comments with our leadership and housekeeping teams. Thank you again for ther review.

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I am staying at the hotel now and it is not your normal Hilton Garden Inn. It is in a former office building from the 1800's, but newly remodeled. Some wonderful floors and other decorations are from the original building and are very pretty. It is worth just seeing parts of it and reading about the history on the panels. There is a large bar and restaurant area. And a sitting room near the entrance. My room is on the fifth floor looking east. The room is new with high ceilings. There is a desk, large flat screen tv, a small microwave, and a refrigerator. The bathroom is nice and modern. The room is very quiet. The location is two blocks east of the river and the river walk. And very close to the third ward restaurant and shops. They have valet parking for six dollars during the day with multiple in and outs. Parking is $24 at night. I am impressed with this hotel and it exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Jim

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience!

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Diamond member stayed here for a nice long weekend with my wife, 3, and 5 year old. Checked in around 3:30 into our 1 bedroom suite. Went up to our room and found out the suite did not have a door, but a sitting area, and you could sit there and see the bedroom. Went back downstairs and talked with Nick the GM, who explained none of their suites have doors. I explained my frustration that I was paying premium when I could have just booked a regular 2 bed accommodation. He did offer a discount because of this which I appreciated “Suite” was pretty nice, small bed area, and small sitting area. Room only had 3 towels in it. One night asked for additional towels which never came, but got them early the next morning. Everything was nice and clean. We were on the 5th floor (top floor), which had 2 small windows and not much of a view though. It was a busy weekend with the Cardinals in town and the Bastille festival, but room was extremely quiet. Normally, the suite issue would have left a damper on my impression of the hotel, but I did get some great sleep here so I am still giving it 4 stars.
Location is great. Walking distance with 2 small kids to Lakefront, Riverwalk, 3rd ward, cathedral square, and lots of restaurants. Valet was $24 a night. From the street, its hard to see where the valet is as there is not stand outside. One time I needed my car and called downstairs and came down 15 minutes later and no one relayed the message to them. The next day I figured I would walk down there with my ticket, and no one was down there for valet as there was only one person there and he was off getting another car.
Breakfast was pretty good, free for my wife and I and they didn’t charge our kids. Similar to most other buffets at Hilton and Embassy suites. Continental style with 3 hot items and made to order omelets. Sat down by one TV and asked if it could be changed to ESPN or CNN or something, and the waitress said no. So I asked a manager who explained that their owner insists that TV be left on TCM (Turner classic Movies) which basically shows nothing but old black and white movies. Kind of weird to me, but maybe that’s the look they are going for in an old building, fancy HDTV big screen showing black and white movies.
Overall I would stay here again as long as it’s a reasonable price. It’s a nice older building in good shape. It’s a smaller building compared to some of the other hotels close buy, which means staff can be great when they are not busy, but staff can get overwhelmed during peak times.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truprunbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your ecperience. I am sorry that a few things were frustrating during your visit, particularly the suite configuration, and the valet. Since your visit we have added a valet stand. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed other parts of your viist. I hope you will consider us again.

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This property is not at all like the standard Hilton Garden Inn locations. This is both a plus and a minus. Our room was absolutely beautiful. We had some challenges with check in and the restaurant but those issues were addressed and corrected by GM Nick. The biggest challenge we encountered was the parking. There is no on property parking and we didn't know there was a second entrance where we did not have to lug our bags up a tall flight of stairs. This property is close to Miller Park which is why we selected it. I would stay here again if I did not have a car to worry about parking. Property itself is gorgeous.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelFan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your expeience at our unique Hilton Garden Inn. I am so glad that you and I were able to speak during your visit. If you are in Milwaukee again, I hope that you will decide to stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly 414-810-4253. Thank you again.

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#4 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#3 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#31 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing