We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully historical hotel stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lakefront Brew Tour
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Carol Stream, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully historical hotel stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown is a grand building, originating in the 1800's. History is everywhere you look in the main lobby and other sites throughout the hotel. So interesting to talk to the staff and find out more history and secrets this building holds. Stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Silvio
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am so glad to hear that you were impressed with our hotel and the Loaylty Building. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to Milwaukee. I hope you can join us again soon. Thank you again!
Nick Jonnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    101
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
75
106
12
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Hills, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Milwaukee every week for business and it never disappoints. The front desk staff is the best in the industry and they always greet me by name. Kudos to Teresa and Katrona!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Nelson
Thank you so much for your loyalty to our hotel. We love having you as our guest! I am delighted to hear that you have such a great relationship with Theresa and Katrona! Thank you again. See you soon!
Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Wonderful staff, and breakfast waitress was outstanding. Overall so glad I chose this hotel! The room was clean, and very quiet. The hotel itself is loaded with character. The breakfast was delicious and reasonably priced. I would opt to stay again the next time I attend a concert downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Victoria
Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoye dyour expeirence with us, our staff, and the character of the Loyalty Building. Thank you for choosing our hotel. I hope you can make it back soon!
Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I, like another reviewer, have mixed feelings about this hotel (or maybe it's the hotel chain)? The building was gorgeous, our room was extremely clean and comfortable, the location was perfect for walking around the city.
BUT, we had booked two nights - an emergency precluded us making the first night and I called to say we still wanted the room for the next night, but we just wouldn't be in the first night. They had no idea how to put a note on the file, I had to call a third party, have them put me on hold, have them call the hotel and then have the third party click back after a long wait to tell me they got the hotel to do what I asked in the first place, put a note on our reservation. I wasn't asking for a refund - I just wanted them to know we couldn't make the first night due to an emergency for the room we had already fully paid for and I didn't want to lose the room.
The next thing is we arrived with a lot of luggage - we were in a wedding, had the dress bags, tux bags, etc. You are on your own to haul your stuff up the outside stairs, find a luggage rack, get your stuff to your room and wheel the rack back down stairs, it just felt wrong.
And not only that when we were leaving and wheeled the rack out to the stairs, the guy outside the door (with an island accent, so we don't blame another innocent employee), who I assume should have been assisting with these things, yelled at us that the racks weren't allowed outside. I'm sorry, I don't work for Hilton, I am unaware of your rules and they are not displayed on the racks.
Was a very sour ending to our stay, just before we got into the car to leave. So the hotel itself is lovely - the service, extremely questionable.
Oh, did I forget to mention the maintenance man changing air filters on a giant ladder in the middle of the room while we were in the room? Yeah, odd - like that couldn't have been done when the room was empty?

Room Tip: Room 420 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with me. I am sorry that you had an unpleasant experience with adding a note to your reservation and getting luggage up and down form your room. While we do not have a dedicated bellman we would be more than happy to assist you with luggage during any future visits. Please feel free to schedule this with the front desk. Thank you again for sharing your comments, I am sorry that we did not meet our goal of exceeding your expectations in every way.
Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Whether its a business trip or for pleasure, this is the place you might want to stay in Milwaukee. Its right in the downtown, excellent food joints around, and you can walk down to the waters. Staff is professional & courteous. Breakfast has a good spread, with freshly made options from the kitchen. Hotel is kind of a heritage property with high roofs, wall size windows & super spacious rooms. It makes you feel a great, rich and lavish living. It gives you a good mix of ultra-modern and ancient homes. If its Milwaukee, this is the place for me..

Room Tip: Go with rooms at the lobby level or higher. Most of the rooms have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Mitra
Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were impressed with our hotel. I hope to meet you the next time you are in Milwaukee. Thank you again for takeing the time to share your experience!
Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee,
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Kitchen staff at breakfast and the doormen were extremely helpful. Parking in lot kitty corner across the street was a good deal at ten dollars a day and saved you money. There for a wedding and the location was great and this is just like to blocks from the Market. Old town Milwaukee. 3rd Ward.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Linda
I am so glad to hear that you found our staff to be helpfull. Our team takes pride in being as hospitible as possible, comments like yours mean a lot. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to Milwaukee.
Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

great place close to everything staff is helpful and everything just perfect, if you don't have something just call or ask the front desk and they take care of you. I would recommecnd staying at the Hilton in Milwaukee the it colse to all the night life and beaches just overall great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler C, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you Lamar K!

I appreciate the kind words you gave our Hotel.
I'm glad we gave you a memorble experience. We look foward to seeing you on your next trip to Milwaukee.

sincerely,
Tyler Cooley
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.