We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lakefront Brew Tour
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Detroit, United States
1 review
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Overall experience was good. Location was perfect and the breakfast was awesome. The valet service and bell hop were very helpful these guys are top notch. My only issue is with the wireless internet connectivity in which I was only able to achieve once in a great while. Other than that I would recommend for the Milwaukee area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi Richard,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and received great customer service from the front of the house to the back. Your feedback has been shared with all team members to keep striving for the best customer service that our guests deserve ! I am sorry that there were some internet issues for you, I assure you the issue has been adressed with the appropriate department for improvement and stability.

I hope that when you are in the area again that you will use us as your hotel of choice.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    93
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
69
97
10
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leechburg, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great staff, good made to order breakfast, Abdul the Bellman was great, entertaining, helpful. Great location, could walk to many restaurants, churches, bars. We had our bikes with us and was able to ride along the lake, felt very safe in city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Christine, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that our location was perfect for you as far as dining, entertainment and religion.
I am very happy to hear you received great customer service from the from the minute you arrived until you departed. Your feedback will be shared with all team members so we can keep striving to achieve the best customer service around !

We hope that we will be your hotel of choice if you are ever in the area again soon :)

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, great staff,great location,could walked to just about everything. Bellman Abdoul was excellent and entertaining, The breakfast was super fresh foods, made to order owlets eggs etc. would stay ads there again for sure.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Larry, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you experienced great customer service and enjoyed your fresh breakfast ! Your feedback will be shared will all team members so they can keep providing the great customer service all our guests deserve.

We hope that if you are in the area again that we will be your hotel of choice.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sp
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed 5 nights here for business. The hotel has a lot of charm as it dates back to the 1800s. Service at front desk was good and breakfast fantastic. One thing odd was they forget to clean my room 2 days in a row, and did not even bother to even help me folk my pajamas which I deliberately left on my bed. In Asia hotels. Housekeeping would definitely do so! And missing was a pair of simple slippers as the floor was cold. And no free drinking water - again in most good class hotels in Asia - this would not be the case.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review about your experience with us, your feedback makes us strive for the best customer service we can provide! I I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotels history and charm and that you lvoed the breakfast !
Your feedback will be shared with the front desk team and all team members about thier service.
I sincerly apologize about your room not being serviced, I assure you that this is not our standards and will share your feedback with the appropriate management and team members to make sure this does not happen again.
As part of our Project Grow program we now offer ice cold drinking water in our lobby/Garden Grille area that is flavored with a different fruit on a daily basis that is put in place early afternoon til late evening for everyone to enjoy.
We hope we will kbe your hotel of choice when you are in our area again.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipers Fork, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wonderful old historic building with modern conveniences. Warm and comfortable surroundings. Standard good Hilton quality. Conveniently located in downtown Milwaukee. Rooms are spacious with very high ceilings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Thomas, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with us ! We are very pleased you enjoyed the History and structure of the hotel. We hope that when you are in our area again that you will choose us as your hotel to enjoy andother great experience.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This recently restored/renovated old, downtown Milwaukee building houses an interesting, well thought out Hilton Garden Inn. The best of the vintage details were kept, and they blend very nicely with the updated carpets and rooms. The staff is great, as is the housekeeping. Room service is fine; the breakfast buffet is varied and plentiful, including eggs cooked to order. I shall definitely stay there on return visits to Milwaukee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi John, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your experience with us. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the history and structure of the hotel. Thank you for complimenting our team members, your feedback with be shared with the appropriate departments and team members. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us as well. We hope to see you again soon.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn is located in a vintage building which is beautiful. The lobby is done in a modern style that looks great against the old finishes of the building.

The hotel really tries hard - they just seem to fall a little short. The room prices are a slightly lower compared to more upscale options for downtown Milwaukee so maybe that's why. While they seem to suggest they cater to the business traveler, we felt that they really did not. There was no coffee available at check-in which I thought was odd. We were checking in at 2 but told that the room was not available until 3 (OK, that sometimes happens) but then there was no coffee set out in the lobby for the business traveler. We were on our way to a business meeting within the hour and having some coffee available, even for purchase, would have been a nice touch. Our meeting was at another hotel in the area which seemed to have more of a business feel - coffee was available, newspapers were available, etc.

Our room was nice (a suite) but it faced into the center of the building so the windows face an interior wall. Really odd set up. Why even have a window if it is completely useless.

The breakfast option was also very confusing. There was a buffet but then also table service. We never had ANY table service after sitting for 30 minutes and then we finally had to ask someone for a check at the end of our buffet service. We could have walked out without paying....very strange!

Overall, this hotel is in a beautiful space but needs to up its game a little to be a downtown option for the business traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a window facing outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi KlgBliss, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel however, I am sorry that we fell short of yoiur expectations in certain areas. Unfortuneatly at Hilton Garden Inns we now remove the coffee after breakfast and complimentary Ice Water and Lemonade are provided in the front of our lobby for all guests as part of the new Project Grow program. We do however have coffee made in the kitchen that we are more than happy to get any guest who would like a nice cup of freshly brewed coffee. With the new breakfast signage that we have in place now, we hope it will help with some of the confusion about the ordering and what is available for the breakfast. We hope that next time you are in our area you will try us again and we hope that we can make your experience much more pleasant. Should you have any questions or concerns please feel free to send me a messege or call me at anytime.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.