We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on a whole we really like the Hotel and its location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lakefront Brew Tour
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Aspen, Co., United States
1 review
“on a whole we really like the Hotel and its location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved the Hotel and our stay.The staff at the desk were very helpful. The breakfast was out standing and great quality.We like the location. We did think the valet parking is too expensive $24.00 a nite so we have tp park ourselves across the street for $10.00 a nite. With the downtown location I think its not that safe at nite to park and go to the Hotel alone or as a couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Good Day Maria Madeleine L, Thank you for your feedback about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel’s structure and history, we are also glad that you received great customer service and a wonderful breakfast. Your feedback and comments help us achieve the best customer service and accommodation experience you deserve. We hope to see you again soon !

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    101
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
73
103
12
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton for the weekend that we were at Summerfest with another couple. We ended up with a corner room, which was quite spacious. Neat older hotel with fabulous upgrades! Restaurant/bar on location was great. Within walking distance to many bars and restaurants. On a street with quick bus access to festival site and reasonable self-park lot across the street. Would definitely stay at this location again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Good Day Misswinegirl, Thank you for your feedback about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel’s structure, accomodations and amenities, we are also glad that you received great customer service. Your feedback and comments help us achieve the best customer service and accommodation experience you deserve. We hope to see you again soon !

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Was here for 4 nights and loved it! The building is gorgeous and clean and in a great location. Not to mention the price was great too! Lots if history in this building, be sure to check it out. Everyone there was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel's structure and history, we are also glad that you received great customer service. Your feedback and comments help us achieve the best customer service and accommodation experience you deserve. We hope to see you again soon !

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were impressed with the hotel building however it was difficult getting our bags in and out. There was no water for sale at the gift shop, no water in the lobby and when I asked a clerk, she said she could only give us one bottle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel's structure and history, I am however, sorry we fell below your expectations on the lack of help with the loading and unloading of your luggage and the lack of water for sale in our pantry. Your feedback and comments help us achieve the best customer service and accomodation experience you deserve and will be shared with management and team members. We hope you will visit us again when you are in the Milwaukee area.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Our 130 year old hotel had the most comfortable beds and pillows, a fascinating history, incredible staff and breakfast was absolutely perfect. The hotel has been redone in 2012-13 and architecture integrity intact with all the comfort of home. I was intrigued by rich history of the hotel and thrilled by the offers of several of the housekeeping staff while riding the elevators to make sure I had see the painted antique vaults and even offered anecdotal info regarding the copper finials. They really seemed so pleasant and wanted to make sure I had terrific Milwaukee experience. The fresh fruit - honeydew, watermelon and sweet pineapple and strawberries as well as Greek yogurt ..made to order omelets or yummy scones or lemon poppyseed muffins made dieting difficult. My only complaint was our first night there our bartender was quite rude, complained about other guests and despite my inquiring about happy hour and prices were posted outside was rude to all in our party and didnt honor any of the happy hour specials. That however was soon forgotten by such caring staff in housekeeping who always had a smile and a hello and front desk and shuttle driver very accommodating. It was convenient to lake as well as the river walk.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I am sorry that the lounge service you experienced at our hotel fell below your expectations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team and team members for immediate action and resolution.

We are very glad that you experienced alot of the history of our hotel and that the rest of your stay was delightful.

If you are returning to our area in the future we hope you will give us another opportunity to make your Hilton Garden Inn experience the BEST it can be.Should you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me personally if there is anything we can do for you to ensure your experience is memorable and enjoying.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown for a couple of nights. It is an old building in downtown that has been recently renovated as a HGI. It is a beautiful building, in a convenient and easy to get to location. While I'd like to give it more than a 3 star rating (maybe a 3.5), it has staff that is in dire need of training. Go for the charm of an old building, but don't expect much in the way of service.

The rooms are new, but have the charm of big windows and nice bathrooms. It has been open less than a year, so everything still is in excellent condition. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room, handy for those that need them. The elevators were surprising quick. There are only 5 floors with a beautiful open area in the center that lets in tons of light.

We were disappointed in the service, pure and simple. Staff, especially the wait staff, were plentiful, but more intent on talking to themselves than actually working. The breakfast buffet was strictly self serve---had to go to the counter to pick up the eggs I had ordered, and get my own coffee refills. If they had been busy, I would certainly have understood, but they were all just talking among themselves.

The front desk staff was okay, with a bit of an edge. When my spouse asked for housekeeping before 3pm, he got a terse reply that they were too busy getting rooms ready for arriving guests. When housekeeping did arrive, they were very kind, helpful, and apologetic.

We used the valet service. Expensive, plus they helped themselves to the few dollars of change we had inadvertently left in our car. Not worth making a federal case over, but we DID notice it was gone. It just seemed typical of the whole stay----just felt a little used, rather than a little pampered.

If they can get their staff trained properly, this place could be great. In the meantime, expect a nice building....and a little abuse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I am sorry that the customer service you experienced at our hotel fell below your expectations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team and front desk team members for immediate action and resolution.

If you are returning to our area in the future we hope you will give us another opportunity to make your Hilton Garden Inn experience the BEST it can be.Should you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me personally if there is anything we can do for you to ensure your experience is memorable and enjoying.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were in town for a family emergency and needed a decent, yet inexpensive hotel in downtown Milwaukee. Growing up my father was an architect heavily involved in historic preservation (he still is). When we walked into the hotel, our mouths dropped to the floor in pure awe!!! This is an amazing hotel!!!

While we were there they were hanging the pictures about the hotel in the 2nd floor lobby area. I took my niece and nephew down to see the freshly hung pictures and talk about their content. Even through the family stresses and anxieties, these children (and me) were mesmerized by the architecture and the hotel's documentation of it.

The service was wonderful - maybe not as welcoming as the art director and his staff - but fine. The front desk folks were not what I've come to expect from a Hilton family hotel. One was very green and very unsure of herself. The other came off very arrogant and full of herself - unless she was helping a gold or diamond level guest. For us lowly blues she was cold, detached, and very condescending. Quite the contrast to the front desk staff we had the previous evening at an airport hotel.

All said and told - my adult daughter was with me and we decided we wanted to come back for a joyful multiple-family vacation here in the not too far away future!!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor was the best architecturally...you could overlook the amazing courtyard and still had othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel's structure and history, I am however, sorry we fell below your expectations on the lack of help and professionalism at the front desk. Your feedback and comments help us achieve the best customer service and accommodation experience you deserve and will be shared with management and team members. We hope you will visit us again when you are in the Milwaukee area.

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.