We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lakefront Brew Tour
Ranked #10 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Livermore, United States
1 review
“Great Place to stay and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I would definitely stay here again. Beautiful old building, but nicely updated. GREAT LOCATION, while I was a little concerned because the buildings around the hotel seemed all vacant, I never felt unsafe and we were able to walk to so many different things. Everything seemed to be a couple of blocks to 1/2 mile away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel’s structure and history, we are also glad that you received great customer service. Your feedback and comments help us achieve the best customer service and accommodation experience you deserve. We hope to see you again soon !

Hospitably Yours,
Shelly Holmes
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hotel 414-271-6611 Ext 5028
Direct 414-810-4265
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    67
    23
    12
    2
See reviews for
53
72
7
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I would rate the Hilton Garden Inn of Milwaukee as excellent IF we had stayed on two days. Unfortunately, on the third day, an odor developed in the room and the housekeeper forgot to clean our room/bath. Our call to the front desk did bring some fresh towels, but the dirty ones on the floor remained even after a second call to the front desk. We were told that an ionizer would be put in our room when we were out to mitigate the odor. When we returned, the odor was still present. No one even said we are sorry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I am terribly sorry that your experience at our hotel was disappointing. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.

I would very much like the opportunity to personally apologize for the inconveniences that you went through during your stay. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again.
Thank you Lisa, General Manager, 414-271-6611
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel was absolutely beautiful, and the staff was very helpful. We are a family of 4 and brought 4 bikes with us and the staff helped us bring them up to the room along with all our bags. Location is great too...walking distance to River Walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We value your feedback and the team will be very pleased that you enjoyed Milwaukee and our hotel.
Kind regards, Lisa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very close to Summerfest, about 5 blocks or so. There's no pool, so if you are traveling with kids, that's a consideration. However, the rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. A comfortable bed; good, heavy drapes to block out light; quiet even on the 2nd floor right by the stairs. I slept great. Lovely, historic building. The staff was all so nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here recently for work and planned to be in an area which was close to the downtown restaurant/bar/things to do scene. I also wanted to be generally close to the Brewers ballpark to attend a game. This hotel is in a great location downtown and close to everything from a sight seeing and business standpoint, as well as close to the interstate and about 15 minutes from the airport.
The best part about the hotel was the atmosphere. The building is an old Northwest Mutual Bank building and all of the rooms have vaulted ceilings and are appointed really well. The original large staircase is there and leads upstairs to the second and third floors, which was enjoyable to climb. The atrium/glass roof above the staircase was beautiful too.
The staff at the hotel was so friendly and accommodating, truly that Midwest "nice" as I like to call it. Everyone from the valet, to the front desk person to the employees at breakfast were so helpful and friendly. This truly made the experience wonderful.

Room Tip: Can access the second floor by staircase if you hate the elevator like me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is such an ornate hotel. Beautiful building that they did a great job restoring but not ruining. Lobby is modernized but still has charm of open staircase and center windows brining in so much light. Rooms are clean with 14' ceilings. Comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Great location and walking distance to Historic Third Ward. They have shuttle and guys who run it are great. Valet service parks cars in outside lot. This is very bad. Bird poop all over the car. Front desk afternoon shift was very unfriendly. Need to train associates. She told us shuttle could not take us since our destination since it was a me away. Website said 5. Gentleman who drove shuttle took us but after much waiting due to poor communication from woman at front desk. Stayed three days and all three days there was no coffee. Always ran out and staff was not worried that it took half hour to refill, went down street to get coffee. Bottom line staff needs some serious training. I saw a bartender ask the customer to come up to bar with his bill, really? Love the location, poor service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is our second time here. We stayed here for Summerfest. It was less than a mile walk to the grounds. We felt safe with no issues. (this is a big city!) The hotel is 2 blocks from downtown and two blocks from the Third Ward. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very helpful. We asked for more pillows and had them almost before we hung up the phone. The housekeeper that brought us our pillows was very knowledgable about the history of the hotel and made some great dining suggestions.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor. The east side has more of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.