We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, elegance, afforability” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lakefront Brew Tour
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charm, elegance, afforability”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Milwaukee is a touch of elegance in a wonderful city to visit. We were within walking distance of The Milwaukee Art Museum (a must see for both the architecture and the collection), the downtown area, the Historic Third Ward, We were less than twenty minutes by car from any of the sites we wanted to visit. The renovated historic 19th century landmark building has been fully modernized, yet retains the character and integrity of the original structure, both inside and out. The fitness center has state of the art equipment and a full range of free weights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    89
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
70
92
9
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Wonderful old historic bank building converted to a Hilton garden inn - very attractive and modern furnishings, full restaurant/bar, great service. Not your typical Garden Inn experience. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for almost a week for work. The location is wonderful. The staff was extremely helpful. I got sick one day, and the shuttle took me to the nearest drugstore so that i could get medicine. The room was incredible. Very large ceilings. The best was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was also a nice size, with a lot of counter space. I used the gym a few times. It was very clean. They were out of towels and cups for water, however it was also in the evening on a weekend, when there aren't usually a whole lot of people using the fitness center. The breakfast in the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband, myself, our son and his girlfriend stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn this past weekend. I looked for a hotel with a suite with 2 bedrooms which I couldn't find so I asked if the Hilton Garden Inn had connecting rooms and requested that. Even though the hotel was full when we arrived around 8:00 P.M. on a Friday night they were able to honor our request of connecting room which I was happy about. The room was very nice sized with massive ceilings. The beds were very comfy, nice crisp sheets with a warm duvet coverette. There was a microwave and small refrigerator and coffee maker in each room. I couldn't get over how beautiful the building is. The floors in the lobby and stairwells had the original tile which was beautiful. The staircases had massive wood banisters decorated with copper trim and ironwork which was breathtaking. The "light well" was amazing. This was the top of the stairwell all done in glass which was also original.
The only negitive thing I have to say is the room service was a little lacking. We stayed 2 nights and after returning Saturday evening realized the toilet tissue in the bathroom hadn't been restocked nor had the coffee supplies. The staff was quick to deliver the missing supplies to our rooms when we call the front desk.
All in all we had a great weekend!

Room Tip: We had rooms 209 and 210 which were connecting and overlooked Broadway Street. We were able to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The building is beautiful with its restored lobby. Everything is clean, fresh, current and the staff were very available all day and all night. Especially loved the courtesy shuttle to take me to the convention center and also recommendations for after the conference.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I travel to Milwaukee fairly often and have had my eye on this hotel even before it was open. I knew it was it in a significant, restored old building and had been receiving great reviews, so my expectations were high; nevertheless my stay exceeded them.

Leaving the great building aside for a moment, the real key to my great stay was the friendly and very professional staff. I was dealing with some difficult matters during my stay but the welcoming staff made that much more bearable. They were great from check-in till check-out. I made more requests to the front desk than I typically do in a stay and they handled everything beautifully.

The restoration of the 1886 Loyalty Building is so wonderful that it invites you to get out of your room to take it in. It gives the hotel a special feel and the staff clearly takes pride in it. I learned during my stay that my grandmother had worked in the building years ago. What a great connection! I also have my own memories of John Hawk's pub when it was in the basement of this building before moving to Wisconsin Avenue in 1990. A benefit of the old building is that the high ceilings and windows in the guest rooms make the rooms feel larger than they otherwise would. The rooms are also very quiet and benefit from the standard Hilton Garden Inn microwave and refrigerator. The lobby is laid out well with areas that make you feel completely comfortable just hanging out.

A final important feature to note is that the self-parking lot is very close and cost only $10 a day with unimited in and out privileges. That's way less than some other downtown Milwaukee hotels.(Valet parking is also available.)

I have stayed in downtown Milwaukee hotels with higher star ratings than this one, but none have been better than this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel was very good overall. The architecture of the building is very interesting. As this is an old building that has been beautifully renovated, the rooms are solid/ quiet, solid with the exception of the air conditioning/ heating unit. This is one thing in general with hotel rooms that really bothers me so I just turned it off at night.

My room was 418 and it had a huge window that unfortunately viewed an alley. OK, the bathroom does not have expensive tile or a bath tub, but this is Hilton Garden Inn, not the Waldorf! Clearly is the nicest Hilton Garden that I have ever stayed in.

While the there are restaurants in the area, this is downtown and the block that the hotel is on located on is somewhat deserted with many empty buildings.

Service at the front desk was very good, the restaurant staff seemed a bit overwhelmed in the morning trying to keep up with the crowds.

Room Tip: Consider asking for an inside room not facing the road or the back alley which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 North Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.